GPS tracking and mapper?

brandogirl

Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm new to all this, so I apologize if I do anything wrong.

I'm hoping someone can tell me what the best app would be for tracking my phone as I travel a long distance in a car and sending it to a map online that someone else could look to see where I am (using Google Maps, maybe?). Kinda like the maps airlines have on their sites to show the progress of a specific flight.

The updating would have to be automatic because, hey, driving. :) Battery draining isn't an issue because I would have the phone plugged in.

I've looked around a little at various apps, but I'm not sure they do everything that I want them to do, or are any good, and I thought I'd come on here for some suggestions.

Thanks in advance!

OP
B

brandogirl

Reaction score
Check out My Tracks.

That's one of them that I looked at, but it doesn't seem to have automatic updating. I don't want to have to look at the phone and hit buttons while also driving. Unless there's a way to set it to automatic updates that I'm not seeing?

SGTiger

Reaction score
Not exactly what you were asking for, but you might consider Mobile Defense. It allows anyone that you give the username/password to login to the website. The website will send a message to your phone and the app will send your location. The website will then display your phone's location on a map.

https://www.mobiledefense.com/

Very useful when you lose your phone, but also useful for someone that needs to know where you are at any time (providing you're not in a building where the GPS or SMS doesn't work).

Last edited:

techguru

Reaction score