GPS Toggle?

Discussion in 'Project Elite' started by FunnelWeaver, Mar 8, 2011.

  1. FunnelWeaver
    Offline

    FunnelWeaver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I flashed Project Elite v5 for the first time last night, and WOW this ROM is fast! I found one quirk, however. I use tasker to activate/deactivate GPS automatically and it's always worked fine, but this ROM it will not allow it to toggle GPS. Along the same lines, I can't toggle GPS with SwitchPro Widget, either.

    I know that in stock Android, GPS is a system settings and third party widgets/applications do not have access directly to those settings, but I haven't had this problem with any other ROM.

    Is there a fix for this?
     
  2. Backnblack
    Offline

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,250
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +6
    Should never be a reason to disable GPS, only uses power when an app is actively using it.
     
  3. awriternot
    Offline

    awriternot Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Ok dumb question but I had a one click widget for turning on my GPS before ICS that no longer works. Does anyone know of a good one that works? So far I have had no luck & have been having to go in to settings every single time I want to enable it.

    Unrooted Droid Razr Maxx
     
  4. BriCo84
    Offline

    BriCo84 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Same thing happened with me on my Droid 4. Apparently Motorola removed their individual widgets (these were Motorola provided widgets) and instead opted to have their users use the All in 1 power control bar. This is not too big a problem as there are 3rd party apps if you want individual widgets (I personally have beautiful widgets which has a single widget for all the options you want). However, it appears that an app can't be written to directly control the GPS, making it a pain in the butt. Motorola somehow had designed a GPS widget for their phones, but it was proprietary. Without their widget, we have no way to control it on and off other than use the giant power control center.

    MOTOFAIL!
     
  5. Sydman
    Offline

    Sydman Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,566
    Likes Received:
    308
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Ratings:
    +322
    If you go under Widgets they still have the one touch GPS toggle on their stock Power Control thing.

    It has Wifi, Bluetooth, GPS, Sync, and screen brightness.

    Open your APP drawer and go to widgets it is the one with the five little icons called Power Control.
     
  6. BriCo84
    Offline

    BriCo84 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you for your reply, but please read what you are replying to before doing so. I clearly stated that I knew about the power control widget but was not satisfied. The power control widget takes up a 4 x 1 space on the home screen. I am specifically looking for the 1 x 1 GPS toggle style behavior seen in GingerBlur
     
  7. Sydman
    Offline

    Sydman Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,566
    Likes Received:
    308
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Ratings:
    +322
    I was replying to the OP, who did not mention that Power Control widget.
     
  8. awriternot
    Offline

    awriternot Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks Syd...that's what I ended up using.

    Sent from my Unrooted Droid Razr Maxx Using Tapatalk
     
  9. Sydman
    Offline

    Sydman Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,566
    Likes Received:
    308
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Ratings:
    +322
    No problem that is what I ended up using as well because I like that it can turn sync off. Since I got my Nexus 7 tablet I turn sync off on my phone while I have that around so I don't have double email notifications coming in.
     
Search tags for this page
droid x2 gps toggle
,

htc thunderbolt gps toggle