GPS taking a long time to lock on

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Bionic' started by LaurelRaven, Jul 16, 2012.

  1. LaurelRaven
    Offline

    LaurelRaven New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Anyone else having that problem lately? Running 229 ICS, having the problem in Google maps and Waze.

    Sent from my ICS Bionic
  2. Mustang02
    Offline

    Mustang02 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,160
    Likes Received:
    59
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Cleveland Ohio
    Try .230 never had a problem but you never know.
  3. grgguy
    Offline

    grgguy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    SoCal
    .2233 is also slow
  4. LaurelRaven
    Offline

    LaurelRaven New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Now that they have a painless upgrade path, i may try it. I was considering doing 232, actually.

    Sent from my ICS Bionic
  5. CBMGGM
    Offline

    CBMGGM New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Medinah, IL
    GPS working fine with 232; I use it daily.
  6. CurGeorge8
    Offline

    CurGeorge8 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm running a stock Bionic, and noticed the same behavior after the most recent google maps update. It's also noticeable in google navigation.
  7. grgguy
    Offline

    grgguy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    SoCal
    Absolutely, I thought it was a signal issue. I use the navigator daily and half the time it won't turn on the GPS. A simple reboot usually corrects the problem
  8. Graymayre
    Offline

    Graymayre New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    452
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    upstate NY
    I was using a 902 build of eclipse before, and my gps was not too speedy. I went straight to 232 (not really straight of course) and the GPS is now phenomenal.

    Driod Bionic ICED 232
  9. sonicxtacy02
    Offline

    sonicxtacy02 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Thought it was just me. Last 2 weeks have been crazy with establishing a lock. Takes Runkeeper 5 minutes to start tracking my morning run. Looking foward to a fix!
  10. zebo51
    Offline

    zebo51 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2012
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I too have been having issues getting GPS to lock. I think mine actually started after updating from 902 to 905. It does suck especially if you need directions or location fast.
  11. tennvol
    Offline

    tennvol New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    905 made my gps useless and was a poor update all around. I didn't want to install ics but had to in order to make my phone use able
  12. wseyller
    Offline

    wseyller Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    735
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hendersonville NC
    I too had gps issue with 905. I would always show me in the wrong place. I was always shown as driving through a corn field and such. So far on 232 it has been perfection. I use it quite often.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk 2
  13. DeltaHotel
    Offline

    DeltaHotel New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes I have seen the same after the last update. Used to get nearly instant GPS lock but now takes about 2 minutes usually.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk 2
  14. Captain Crypto
    Offline

    Captain Crypto New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Yep, same here with GPS. Overall my phone has been hiccuping since 902. My phone ran near flawlessly on 901. I should've stayed on it.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk 2
  15. gsDroid
    Offline

    gsDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado
    I'm having excellent results with gps lock, navigation, etc. with the .232 ICS leak. Nicer voice on the turn-by-turn navigation, too.
  16. zebo51
    Offline

    zebo51 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2012
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm looking for a good guide/script to move to .232, which one did you use? I have seen talk here in the forums and have been trying to find a link I found awhile back in a thread but no luck yet.

    Thanks
  17. sonicxtacy02
    Offline

    sonicxtacy02 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I moved on to .232 too, using the HouseOfBionic script. Problem solved. Script was incredibly easy too coming from .905
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2012
  18. kdwisdom
    Offline

    kdwisdom New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Washington State
    Mine is slow, I notice it primarily when opening Facebook. Its very annoying.
  19. gsDroid
    Offline

    gsDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado
    The House of Bionic method has worked for lots of people. Link in Post #17 from sonicxtacy02. There is an RSD method to flash the .905 system which wipes all data, also.
    .905 FXZ released - Android Forums
  20. Cattledog1969
    Offline

    Cattledog1969 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    A Wealthy Cape Cod College Town
    A few weeks ago the "My Tracks" app on my Bionic was updated. Since then, my regular walking route statistics have changed. For example, a 4.2 mile walk on the bike path that I've done and tracked a hundred times now shows up as 3.75 miles. My actual distance hasn't changed only the data has chanced. Anyone else heard of this?

    Also do our cell phones run on satellite GPS or do they triangulate using land based towers? Makes no difference to me as long as it accurate.
Search tags for this page

bionic gps not working

,
bionic ics slow gps
,
droid 4 gps antenna
,
droid 4 gps not working
,

droid bionic gps not working

,

droid bionic gps problems

,
droid bionic maps not locking on
,

droid razr gps slow

,
gps not working droid bionic
,

gps not working on droid bionic

,
motorola bionic gps lock
,
motorola razr i slow gps fix