1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

gps staying on

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by Matth3w, Feb 4, 2010.

  1. Matth3w
    Offline

    Matth3w New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Huachuca, AZ (Originally from Pittsburgh, PA)
    My gps is staying on now since I used the nandroid 7.4 restore. But I don't have any programs running that use it...no map etc
  2. unix.punkx
    Offline

    unix.punkx Beta Team

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    3,332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bloomington, IN
    Interesting, was it not loading before?
  3. baniels
    Offline

    baniels New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    52556
    I once noticed that if I opened the browser with google as homepage, and with google having location access, but didn't let the page fully load before closing, it would keep GPS on from the interrupted location request.

    Maybe that happened?
  4. Matth3w
    Offline

    Matth3w New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Huachuca, AZ (Originally from Pittsburgh, PA)
    Before I have used tbhe update.zip method and it never did this. It sucks because as soon as ik use the browser or market the gps stays on long enough to get the temps up tp 105 or more degrees
  5. Matth3w
    Offline

    Matth3w New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Huachuca, AZ (Originally from Pittsburgh, PA)
    That might bbe it. How do I turn that off?
  6. thatguychuck
    Offline

    thatguychuck New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    SD
    On mine I just open the browser again and let it fully load.
  7. Samckaz
    Offline

    Samckaz New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    I solved this problem by turning off GPS in Settings/Location & security/use GPS satellites.
    Not a permenant fix but good enough to conserve battery and keep those hot temps down.
  8. baniels
    Offline

    baniels New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    52556
    This is what works for me.
  9. Matth3w
    Offline

    Matth3w New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Huachuca, AZ (Originally from Pittsburgh, PA)
    I shouldn't have to do that though. And it never did it before. I don't want to turn off gps
  10. ShowTime
    Offline

    ShowTime New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Open the browser and go to Google. Click "settings" at the bottom of the page in between iGoogle and Help. Scroll to the bottom and select No for "Allow use of device location". Presto
  11. thatguychuck
    Offline

    thatguychuck New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    SD
    Enter the browser settings, turn off "enable location," and also "clear location access." I think it's a bug that happens when you turn off location but some sites still have the access permissions. Hasn't happened to me since clearing the list.

    Edit: It did come back, oh well....
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2010
Search tags for this page
andriod why does gps stay on
,
android gps icon stays on
,
galaxy gps symbol stays on
,

galaxy s3 gps stays on

,

gps icon stays on android

,

gps stays on android

,
gps stays on nexus
,
htc one x gps stays on
,
note 2 gps staying on
,
note 2 gps stays on
,
on my galaxy note 2 why is the gps location icon stay on
,

why does gps stay on

,

why does my gps icon stay on

,
why does my gps icon stay on my hct phone
,
why does my location icon stay on my android