GPS Slow to activate

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Bionic' started by Mungboy, Mar 29, 2012.

  1. Mungboy
    Offline

    Mungboy New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My Bionic takes forever to get the GPS up and running. Anyone else having a similar problem?
  2. Scribble
    Offline

    Scribble New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    takes for ever to load the app or find a gps signal?
  3. Mungboy
    Offline

    Mungboy New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    To get the GPS signal...I can't understand why it takes so long if I'm outside to get the GPS signal.
  4. jhom
    Offline

    jhom Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Do you have the GPS setting turned on in your general settings? Also, which program are you using with the GPS?
  5. gsDroid
    Offline

    gsDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado
    I always fire up 'GPS Status' free in the market (Play) before I turn on GPS. It locks faster on than GPS alone. It has some very useful features.
  6. wseyller
    Offline

    wseyller New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    735
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hendersonville NC
    I have noticed the same thing lately. Can take about 10 the 20 seconds to get a lock. It use to lock almost instantly. I'm on the latest stock firmware.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk
  7. Scribble
    Offline

    Scribble New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I second GPS status. It also has some features for resetting your A-GPS stuff which helps speed things up.
  8. wseyller
    Offline

    wseyller New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    735
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hendersonville NC
    GPS Status is great but I only used that to help with phones that had inferior gps hardware/software. Motorola droid phones have always worked perfect in my experience without the need for such apps. Used to I could get a gps lock with a second or two even inside my house as long as I was within a few feet of a window. Just wondering what is going on or if it is something simple that a hard reset would fix. I don't really remember when it started happening so I'm clueless if it started after upgrading to the latest OTA.
  9. Scribble
    Offline

    Scribble New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well suit yourself... I've had this happen a couple of times, and a quick use of GPS Status usually does the trick. (Don't have to use it every time, just when you're seeing it not seeming to work right.)
  10. jhom
    Offline

    jhom Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    The GPS should come on immediately if you have it set on. If not, a reset might do the trick. Otherwise, your GPS may be defective if does this outside.
  11. gsDroid
    Offline

    gsDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado
    It seems that weather, sun spots, other em activity, etc. can affect the gps lock. Sometimes it happens quickly, sometimes not. I do find that Gps Status helps when I'm not acquiring sats quickly. Other uses for Gps Status include a leveling tool, compass, gps calibration, and as mentioned, help with the A-GPS function. It is definitely worth having, especially when needing help with the satellite lock.
  12. Scribble
    Offline

    Scribble New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The fact that they work as well as they do in phones actually amazes me... When I got my first car GPS back in the day I needed an external antenna unless I wanted to hold the thing out my window while I drove. You could put a sheet on top of the thing and it would loose signal. :p
  13. Christobal
    Offline

    Christobal New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern, VA
    I've been having trouble locking on to the GPS over the past few weeks (un-rooted). It seemed to be a slight problem when I first got my original Bionic on release day, but cleared up after software updates. I am on my 3rd Bionic with the most recent OS and since I received it in March, have had NO problem with the GPS until now. I use GPS essentials and, although I can see almost a dozen or so GPS satellites, it still takes quite a wile for them to "fix" on my position. This has become quite a nuisance when I am in the car trying to bring up directions. :(
  14. redspawnsilver
    Offline

    redspawnsilver New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    had this exact problem too... Still slightly do, but I am 90% better now... First off, what version are you running for you phone? I presume .905?
  15. Christobal
    Offline

    Christobal New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern, VA
    Yes, I got the 905 update several weeks ago. Not sure if my problem started then as I didn't really notice it until recently.
  16. redspawnsilver
    Offline

    redspawnsilver New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Are you willing to load in the .232 ice cream sandwich build? You can revert back to .902 when the OTA comes out, then get the standard upgrade. .232 solved my issues with GPS and most of the time it works well now, again 90% of the time.... Stupid .905 messed with my stuff too...

    I don't know who was in charge of that update, but they need to be put in charge of the broom closet...

    Only thing is that you will have to be willing to revert back once the standard update comes out, but you will love ice cream sandwich so much, you may not care to switch back...
  17. torrentman10
    Offline

    torrentman10 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had the same exact problem you have. It messed up a whole when I got it around release day and now its doing it again just recently. Annoys the crap out of me since I use the GPS function for a biking app that tracks where and how fast I go. I took it to the Verizon store the other day, adn they couldn't figure it out either, so they're sending me another one.
  18. Camoxjeep
    Offline

    Camoxjeep New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm on 232 and since being on this leak my gps sucks. 4200 meters off, takes forever to get close. Before it was instant.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC
    Last edited: Jul 21, 2012
Search tags for this page
android gps location slow
,
android gps slow long
,
android phone slow to turn on gps
,
bionic gps very slow
,
droid bionic can't find gps
,
droid bionic can't get gps fix
,

droid bionic gps fix

,

droid bionic gps problems

,
gps androis too slow problem
,
gps on android slow
,
gps problem droid bionic
,
gps slow android
,
motorola bionic gps
,
motorola razr slow fix gps
,
reset droid bionic gps