1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

GPS problem

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by ssod, Mar 20, 2010.

  1. ssod
    Offline

    ssod New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have had my droid for 3 weeks and love it. The GPS was working great until I updated google maps. Now when I try to navigate, either the droid is "searching for GPS" or if it finally does start, it will lose the signal in a matter of minutes.

    Any thoughts?

    Thanks in advance
  2. OpalCat
    Offline

    OpalCat New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Boston suburbs
    Have you rebooted? My husband's GPS stopped working and he rebooted and everything was fine.
  3. ssod
    Offline

    ssod New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes I did.
    I took it to the Verizon store and he suggested removing the battery, which I did to no avail
  4. butch350
    Offline

    butch350 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Uni-Matrix-Zero
    Uninstall/Install again. (google maps)
  5. forkup
    Offline

    forkup New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Uninstall reboot then see if gps works, if so reinstall maps. That will pin down the problem.
  6. deere_x475guy
    Offline

    deere_x475guy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mid Michigan
    Make sure "Use wireless networks" is checked along with "Use GPS satelites" under settings > location and security > my location.
  7. dwood
    Offline

    dwood New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Mine did the exact same thing last night. After updating Google maps the GPS would not see or lock on to satellites. But since I updated in the morning and didn't try the GPS until evening . . . I didn't associate the two right away.

    I pulled the battery, no help. Reflected on what had changed during the day and that is when I remembered the map update. Uninstalled it: the GPS immediately started working.

    Waited a few hours, re-installed the map update. Now it is still working.

    Good luck with yours!

    DON
  8. ssod
    Offline

    ssod New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    As suggested by others, I did the same thing (uninstall/install) and now it works fine again

    Thanks for your help!
    Steve
  9. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    I love happy endings. See Steve there is no reason to visit a Verizon Store, we can fix it for you right here.;)
  10. fox_91
    Offline

    fox_91 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I too have been having issues with Maps, since I have upgraded for version 4.1. If I uninstall 4.1 updates, Maps locks on quick and is accurate. However with 4.1 my GPS will work ok for a while, then says "searching for GPS" and sometimes it will lock onto a location near Chicago (I am in Columbus Ohio).

    I have tried rebooting (which fixes it for a while), but the only thing that seems to be consistent and working well, is not upgrading the software, which is ok, but I always get bugged that there is a update for Maps. Anyone else getting weird locations for their GPS?