1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

GPS Outage in East Texas?

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by wilydodger, Apr 23, 2011.

  1. wilydodger
    Offline

    wilydodger New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Apparently there has been a GPS outage for all android phones in the East Texas area for about a week. I can't find jack about it on the web and the Verizon people were not very helpful about what was going on. Does anyone know how it's possible to have an Android GPS outage in one specific area or just what the frack is up with this?
  2. dylanthecat
    Offline

    dylanthecat New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    632
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    A selective outage does not make sense. The satellites don't transmit only to certain areas. Sounds really strange.
  3. wilydodger
    Offline

    wilydodger New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I talked to the other Verizon store in my town and apparently the outage is a real thing. I'm just not sure how that's possible though since it's only for the East Texas area though and nowhere else. Also, it's weird that I got clipped with the outage while I was on Liberty 2.01. I couldn't have gotten an update from verizon.

    The official line from the Verizon store was that both google and verizon were trying to do an "update" at the same time and it ended up knocking out everyone's GPS, but only in this area. Apparently it works if you take your phone out of state. They also said it would be fixed wednesday of next week. I'm still stumped at what could possibly have fracked up standalone GPS applications as well as the google ones...

    They said my GPS would work if I went a hundred miles in any direction without any updates. Maybe it's a funky aGPS triangulation error from the towers or something? Although it still happens even if I turn aGPS and wireless network assist off. I really don't know how you can have a localized GPS outage that isn't caused by the satellites themselves, but it seems to be happening...
  4. jchammer123
    Offline

    jchammer123 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    940
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Houston
    Where are you at in east Texas? I'm in Houston and haven't had any problems.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  5. wilydodger
    Offline

    wilydodger New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm in Tyler (Deep East Tesas, sigh). Apparently it works if you go as far south as Lufkin, or East into Louisina. I'm still baffled though...
  6. jchammer123
    Offline

    jchammer123 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    940
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Houston
    That is really strange!!!

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  7. jonakin
    Offline

    jonakin New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  8. wilydodger
    Offline

    wilydodger New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey thanks, this issue is a bear to find information about. That is exactly my issue. That thread is a hell of a lot more informative than the ones I've found or started so far.

    Fantastic :)
  9. takeshi
    Offline

    takeshi New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,600
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Depends specifically on the cause. It's likely not a "GPS outage" since GPS outages can't be localized like this. aGPS and GPS app issues, however, could certainly be localized.

    aGPS is not tower triangulation. If you're triangulating off the towers it's not GPS. aGPS only downloads assistance data for a faster GPS fix. There is no tower triangulation with aGPS despite the seemingly common misunderstanding.
  10. wilydodger
    Offline

    wilydodger New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for correcting my minor terminology mistakes. That has helped tremendously!

    BTW, when GPS is out for all apps, on all phones in hundreds of square miles, for thousand of people, for weeks at a time, I think calling it an "outage" isn't totally unreasonable. Feel free to correct that run on sentence if you must ;)

    I think I have figured out what the issue is (kind of) if anyone is interested....
  11. Jizzylax
    Offline

    Jizzylax New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Aliens blocking satellites??????????
  12. wilydodger
    Offline

    wilydodger New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Lol, I was hoping I might not have to try to stumble through an explanation based on my loose understanding. Specially after I was spanked about aGPS. Takeshi is gonna LOOOOVE this...

    Ok, the root problem is that Verizon merged their tower identifiers(?) with all the damn Alltell towers they bought up around here. Apparently Google has to update some database with the new information, which will take 2-4 weeks.

    Another reason why this is mucking up the GPS is that cell phones must always pull some satellite location(?) data that's based on tower locations from that google database even if you have the aGPS and wireless assist options disabled. I'm getting that from other people with Thunderbolts being able to finally get a lock if the enable airplane mode, then reset the aGPS data, and redownload it via wifi using the "GPS Status" app.

    Whew... That sound about right and/or reasonable to everyone?

    Takeshi... 1,2,3, Go Go Gadget Correction Storm!

    Edit: But yes, I do think that Aliens orchestrated the whole shebang...
  13. thomasshawn
    Offline

    thomasshawn New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm also in Tyler and having same issues. I flashed literally 10 different ROMS thinking it was some glitch in a nightly. then my wife's incredible started doing the same thing. we are both old alltel customers.

    holding my breathe for a fix
  14. wilydodger
    Offline

    wilydodger New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The whole thing just seems like a giant frack up on Verizon's part. Before this, I would never have believed that Verizon would even contemplate disabling all GPS for their customers for a whole month. I wish I had had someone else with an android phone to double check against. I thought it was just mine and beat my head against the issue for a week straight.

    Go check out that XDA thread that someone posted a while back. It has a lot of good info in it...

    [Q] Thunderbolt GPS - xda-developers
  15. Suuperflie
    Offline

    Suuperflie New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm from Tyler too dancedroid. Graduated from Arp though :icon_eek: It could be worse. You could be stuck in Wichita Falls, like me.
  16. ckburks
    Offline

    ckburks New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Good god I'm glad I saw this... I've been freaking out in Longview for hours. Stopped working in dekalb. Hope it works in texarkana. Looking for a place to live tomorrow. . Small world..

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  17. House94
    Offline

    House94 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was able to get a GPS lock last night for the first time in 2-3 weeks. It worked for me this morning until I got to the Bullard area and it dropped. I had posted on the Google Mobile Help Forum that I had been working with Verizon trying to gather phone numbers in our area to help them locate the problem. I was told by a network engineer that if its not working in the next 3-4 days to call him back. He offered to give me credit on the bill, but I don't really care I never called to ***** and be angry I was just curious if there was something wrong with my phone.
  18. wilydodger
    Offline

    wilydodger New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I actually called Verizon to try to give them my number after you asked in the other forum. Got yet another tech that had absolutely no clue what I was talking about. When did he give you the 3-4 day estimate? What day will it be fixed on (supposedly)?

    Lol, you talking about Bullard hits close to home. I'm just a few miles east of there...
  19. House94
    Offline

    House94 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah the network guy was somewhat baffled with the fact that no front line phone techs were aware of the issue. He called me at 1130 Saturday morning. I can attest that it does work when you leave the area. Two Fridays ago is when I first noticed that it wasn't working, because I left that morning for south Louisiana. On 84 east when I got to Logansport, La it started working...I wouldn't know if it worked on 84 anyways between Jacksonville and Joaquin because Verizon has no signal there to begin with. It worked great all the way to Morgan City, La and back to about Wascom, Tx when it stopped again.


    Im from Whitehouse but live in Brownsboro now.
  20. wilydodger
    Offline

    wilydodger New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Lol, sounds like you are on the case man. Keep it up! I have talked to the locals here and one or two phone techs that were semi aware of the problem.

    However, all I kept getting was this answer: "It's a problem with Google. Try using our (redundant and overpriced) VZ Navigator service instead" Whenever they said that, I immediately called Shenanigans and figured they were talking total upsale BS. They all need to stop that immediately...

    By the way, it's kind of creepy talking to all these people about this that are only a few miles away. Isn't there a law that says that everyone you talk to on the internet must be totally anonymous and across an ocean from you?

    Edit: The one guy that seemed to know anything at all said it should be fixed by Wednesday. That jives with what your guy said. Maybe that's a good sign that it will actually be fixed soon. *crosses fingers*
Search tags for this page
are there any satellite outages in texas today
,
does the samsung s4 gps use waas corrections
,
east texas gps
,
is there a verizon gps outage in texas
,
is there something wrong with telephone service in whitehous
,
satellite outages in texas
,

satellite reception in east texas

,
verizon droid dna gps outage
,
verizon outage kilgore tx