Gps not working

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by findit, Mar 10, 2010.

  1. findit

    findit Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    never used it much but after the 4.0 update on maps I tried to find my location with the gps on and all I get is the blue dot with a circle that is a few miles off, same as if I had the gps off. What gives, seems as if the gps never locks on. I tried several times on and off outside with clear skies and I get the same thing. Any idea why gps won't lock on? It has worked in the past.:cus: Also phone not rooted, running everything stock
     
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2010
  2. 88g

    88g New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    same with you. Just blue dot and don't move. How can I got a moving dot like iPhone??
     
  3. dabierwasgood

    dabierwasgood New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've gotten that issue at times where I haven't moved from an area (i.e. my house) for a while. But once I started moving in my vehicle it locked on.

    I'm not sure exactly where you are trying to get your location, or what the other variables are in your situation. But hopefully this helped a little bit at least.
     
  4. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    I have the latest Google maps and it zooms right down on my location, no doubt about it. It is a blue flashing dot but it's right at my house.
     
  5. 88g

    88g New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    but the BLUE dot is not moving when I was moving.....why?
     
  6. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    Not certain but I believe that maps uses gps to find your location. It will use it again from time to time but I don't think it will show movement unless you are using navigation. If you're using navigation it should show your vehicle, or even if your walking, some movement.
     
  7. takeshi

    takeshi Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,581
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    The dot will move in Google Maps. I've used it as a 2D "follow me" map.

    There's definitely something up with the GPS on the Droids above. It's not moving for those above because triangulation or whatever non-GPS alternative is being used isn't accurate enough to detect "small" movements. If the people above drove several miles (or whatever distance the blue circle indicates as margin of error) the dot and circle would move once triangulation/whatever was able to discern a change in location.

    IIRC several threads recommend downloading the app GPS Status. A search on the phrase would probably yield more details as I don't recall if GPS Status was supposed to help resolve the issue or just assist with troubleshooting.
     
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2010
  8. gpsmapper

    gpsmapper New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Things to try:

    1. Use Advanced Task Killer to kill any other apps that may be using GPS
    2. Do a full power shutdown / reboot
    3. If you don't have GPS always on, leave the unit out under open sky for a full half hour to reacquire ephemeris data
     
  9. billyidle

    billyidle Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Flint, MI
    Ratings:
    +0
    Maybe we should find out if they have GPS enabled, or if they only have the cell phone tower aGPS enabled.
     
  10. zerosignal0

    zerosignal0 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have also started having this issue on chevys 2.1 rom. I can confirm that I didnt have this problem 4 days ago last I used GPS with google maps. I have always had GPS enabled as well. Everything in google maps works and is even able to find me in the correct spot on the map everytime around town but navigation says "acquiring gps signal" and never actually starts the navigation. I left it in my cradle and drove for over an hour with it doing this and it never found anything. During that time I rebooted twice and dropped my OC in case that was interfering with no joy...
     
Search tags for this page

droid 3 gps not working

,
droid 4 gps not working
,
endomondo gps not working
,
gps not working on android
,
motorola droid gps not working
,
my android gps is not working right
,
verizon droid razr gps app does not work endomondo
,
why does the gps on my phone not work right
,
why gps isnt working on droid bionic
,
why navigation on samsung 4 isnt working