GPS not connecting anymore

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by tu3218, Mar 22, 2010.

  1. tu3218
    Offline

    tu3218 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    Ratings:
    +0
    So within this past weekend my droids gps stopped connecting an finding satellites. I try to connect and it never finds satellites when previously it would connect within 30 seconds. At first I thought it was maybe because my rooted droid, but my dads nonrooted droid is also not connecting. Is anyone else having problems? I live around Baltimore, Maryland if that has anything to do with it.
     
  2. KevinJ
    Offline

    KevinJ Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Earth
    Ratings:
    +0
    Working fine for me here in Michigan.
     
  3. tu3218
    Offline

    tu3218 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    Ratings:
    +0
    man this getting really annoying. Is it possible for it to be tough to connect at certain times?
     
  4. BigMcGuire
    Offline

    BigMcGuire Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    Ratings:
    +2
    I have had this problem a few times, doing the #228 and 1 -- then restarting made it so the GPS would connect instantly, otherwise it just keeps blinking and blinking.
     
  5. crspang
    Offline

    crspang Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    691
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lexington, SC
    Ratings:
    +0
    Have you tried rebooting your phone? That's what i have to do when it happens to me.
     
  6. tu3218
    Offline

    tu3218 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    Ratings:
    +0
    yeah I've tried that...
     
  7. crf69
    Offline

    crf69 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    you work for HTC?
     
  8. tu3218
    Offline

    tu3218 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    Ratings:
    +0
    No I dont?
     
  9. MrTommy
    Offline

    MrTommy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Carson City, NV
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hmmmm. I don't often try the GPS thing cuz I'm GPS rich with real GPS's. But just today I tried it here in a hotel room in Las Vegas. No dice... I waited several minutes and it didn't hook up. Yes, I had the GPS option turned on. I'll have to try it later when I leave tonight.

    Always something huh...
     
  10. jamko101
    Offline

    jamko101 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    WA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had the same problem a while back and reprogramming the cell towers helped. I think the number is *228 and not #228 as McGuire posted above. Try this out and see if it helps.
     
  11. tu3218
    Offline

    tu3218 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well it seems to be working now from doing nothing. very strange.
     
  12. crspang
    Offline

    crspang Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    691
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lexington, SC
    Ratings:
    +0
    That is strange. Maybe a network problem. If it happens again try unselecting using celltowers for GPS and see if you can get a fix strictly using sats.
     
  13. darreno1
    Offline

    darreno1 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    If restarting your droid (or removing the battery) didn't solve your problem then it's most likely a network problem. I had issues about a month and a half ago where it was off and on then all of a sudden they cleared up.

    Also note that sometimes it can take several minutes to get a fix even though the norm is just a few seconds.
     
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2010
  14. tu3218
    Offline

    tu3218 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    Ratings:
    +0
    yeah I'm guessing it was a network problem even though I wouldn't think it would need the network since it has an actual GPS. I just hope its good for now.
     
  15. darreno1
    Offline

    darreno1 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0

    This is a very good point and I've often wondered about this when mine didn't work but I think it defaults to the verizon network to get the fixes first, then try to do it standalone. What I think happens, is it gets some kind of signal from the Verizon network and keeps trying that instead of switching to standalone sometimes. I think sometims these signals are screwed up and causes the GPS chip to do crazy things (show location as being elsewhere, over the sea etc) while the actual sat signals are always accurate. This is just a wild guess and could be totally off base.
     
Search tags for this page

android gps not connected

,

android gps not connecting

,

android gps not working anymore

,

android maps garmin not connecting to satellite

,

droid 4 gps not connecting

,

my android can't connect to gps

,

my phone won't connect to satellite anymore

,

my phone wont sync with satellite for my gps

,

runkeeper not connecting to satellite

,

smartgps not connecting to satellite