Gps/navigation horrible?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2' started by want a droid, Sep 25, 2010.

  1. want a droid

    want a droid Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,094
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does anyone else have horrible experiences with the navigation app? Ill be standing outside on the street waiting for a cab and trying to get directions and I'm in the navigation app and it continually does searching for gps....

    Sometimes it'll work fine but its always the most inconvient times when I need it and it doesn't work...

    Is there a fix

    Sent from my DROID2 using Tapatalk
     
  2. Droid DOES!!

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +35
    No issues here. Are both location boxes checked?
     
  3. want a droid

    want a droid Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,094
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah my gps is always enabled.

    Sent from my DROID2 using Tapatalk
     
  4. Redflea

    Redflea Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,954
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +3
    If you're in a city problemmatic GPS signal acquisition is common w/GPS on phones/devices...it can be a tough environment to get a good lock on a signal.

    Make sure you have AGPS enabled in your settings - that should help.

    Also may want to calibrate the phone's compass.
     
  5. takeshi

    takeshi Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,581
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    Try GPS Status. The latest version allows you to clear the cached GPS data which may help if you're having problems getting a fix.