1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

GPS lock still an issue

Discussion in 'Samsung Galaxy S3' started by bitter, Apr 25, 2013.

  1. bitter
    Offline

    bitter New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    613
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Last night I got lost in Boston, tried using my gps to get home but was stuck searching for a location. Now this issue has always been a problem since I got this phone in December, but it's getting out of hand. I've done countless amounts of these "fixes" I've found from searches, with no luck. Even GPS Status isn't working. This thing locks sometimes very quickly, but very rarely. Does anyone have any suggestions? Does it just not work well inside of a vehicle?
  2. bitter
    Offline

    bitter New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    613
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Also, I am not rooted.
  3. Sgt Fury
    Offline

    Sgt Fury New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    2 things to try. First get this app. Go to tools, get a gps state then download. This will help find satellites faster. You can also try taking the back cover off and snugging all frame screws. This helps the gps antenna.
    Last edited: Apr 25, 2013
  4. Sgt Fury
    Offline

    Sgt Fury New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Forgot to tell you the app... http://market.android.com/search?q=pname:com.eclipsim.gpsstatus2
  5. bitter
    Offline

    bitter New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    613
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That's actually the application that I use. Doesn't really help.
  6. Sgt Fury
    Offline

    Sgt Fury New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Did you download under "get a gps state"?
  7. bitter
    Offline

    bitter New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    613
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Where is that located?
  8. bitter
    Offline

    bitter New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    613
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sorry I figured it out. But will it only work while outdoors?
  9. Sgt Fury
    Offline

    Sgt Fury New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hit your menu button with app open, then tools, then fet a gps state, then download
  10. Sgt Fury
    Offline

    Sgt Fury New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I dont think you need to be outdoors
  11. bitter
    Offline

    bitter New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    613
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It's not working. Someone next to me with a RAZR just opened up Google maps and it picked his location up immediately.
  12. Dalvik_Cache
    Offline

    Dalvik_Cache DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2013
    Messages:
    942
    Likes Received:
    125
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central US
    Ive found that sometimes you get a better/faster lock if you have Google Location Services Enabled. Actually, this seems to improve it 95% of the time for me.
  13. bitter
    Offline

    bitter New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    613
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Mine is definitely enabled. VZW is off though.
  14. Sgt Fury
    Offline

    Sgt Fury New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    When was the last time you rebooted?
  15. bitter
    Offline

    bitter New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    613
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    A day or two ago. I'll try again right now.
  16. Sgt Fury
    Offline

    Sgt Fury New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    There are two distinct issues regarding GPS reception. One could be the screws if they are loose. However if you just changed the ROM it is not likely the screws will correct the issue. You can try tightening the screws just in case, however you will become frustrated if this does not fix the problem. If after changing the ROM the GPS does not work it is related to the new ROM load. This does not mean there is a flaw in the new custom ROM but instead how it replaced the prior software. In my case rebooting the phone seemed to correct the problem but this may not always be the case.

    Keep in mind after changing the ROM the GPS must cold restart meaning it must find satellites, sync the clock and decode the PRN information for a position solution. We all know the GPS also has an aGPS feature that supplies orbital satellite data (almanac) and ephemeris information to help the GPS receiver when the phone is inside a building or in an urban canyon area. This is fine if the aGPS function is working… however if aGPS is not working or worse the aGPS load is corrupt, outdated or from a different area the GPS will be totally confused and will not lock on a position solution. All indications point to this type of issue. If you take the phone outside in a clear sky area and use a GPS monitor you will probably see many satellites tracking within a few minutes maximum however it will not lock on any. This is very typical of corrupted or wrong aGPS data. With this is mind the very first thing to do if the screws do not fix the problem is to go outside in an open sky and monitor GPS satellites using a monitor program. If you are able to track strong GPS satellites but they will not lock into a solution it is not the screws and you should try a reboot or maybe re-flash to stock to correct the issue. There are also many other threads discussing other possible solutions to the problem.

    I know it has been mentioned already here but I cannot stress enough go outside in an open area or you just end up creating more frustration. This is particularly true if you are inside a metal building with metalized glass windows next to many other metal buildings, etc. In this instance everything with your phone may be fine and it simply cannot effectively cold start due to very low GPS satellite signals, multi-path and reflected signals and other technical issues that aGPS alone cannot overcome. Remember the GPS signal is extremely weak by the time it reaches your GPS device and the signal is very complex. In this example everything may work fine once the phone is outside in an open area for a few minutes. Once it is has passed the cold start it will probably be ok after going back into the building however accuracy will be decreased while indoors.

    Credit for this post goes to labtex3 on xda forums
  17. bitter
    Offline

    bitter New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    613
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thank you very much for this information. I'm at a loss right now, I just don't know what to do. I'll try open air though.
  18. bitter
    Offline

    bitter New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    613
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Also, I am not rooted. Only running completely stock. Thinking of rooting to see if it'll fix this.
  19. Sgt Fury
    Offline

    Sgt Fury New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Im rooted and using synergy rom r484. Phone runs like a champ with multi-windows and other nice features
  20. bitter
    Offline

    bitter New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    613
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I need to figure out how to do all of this on the s3. I never have, but all of my other droids I have rooted and romed and I remember it being a pain in the butt.
Search tags for this page
android galaxy gps cannot lock on satellites
,

galaxy s3 gps not working

,
gps problems on the galaxy s3
,

searching for gps galaxy s3

,
synergy r484 phone automatically restarts
,

synergy rom 484 galaxy s3 gps problems

,

synergy rom galaxy s3 gps issue

,

synergy rom gps

,

synergy rom gps fix

,
synergy rom gps issue
,

synergy rom gps issues

,

synergyrom vzw s3 gps problem

,
tighten screw gps fix galaxy nexus
,

verizon galaxy s3 gps fix

,
verizon galaxy s3 gps fix permissions