GPS location not correct

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by jarby, Jun 28, 2010.

  1. jarby
    Offline

    jarby Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello all......

    Has this ever happened to you....all of a sudden my phone started reporting that I was in Fox River Grove, Illinois. ??? On my maps, weather.....everything. !! :icon_eek:

    WTF? I'm in western Pennsylvania!

    I did a battery pull, reboot after reboot, *228 phone call to reactivate numerous times, messed with the settings, etc............

    So as a final effort, I got in my car and turned on the maps and drove around and it finally reset..

    What in the world what have caused this?!? Because I REALLY don't want to deal with this again.

    Thanks for any info.
     
  2. jarby
    Offline

    jarby Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I thought I was hacked. Is that even possible?
     
  3. Dawg
    Offline

    Dawg New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    South Dakota
    Ratings:
    +0
    mine showed me in colorado while i was in south dakota
     
  4. jarby
    Offline

    jarby Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    was this today? Or is this just a random glitch that just happens.

    Like I cared what the weather was like in Fox River Grove...and when I mapped it, it actually put me on a Crescent Road.... ???

    so........odd.
     
  5. JCo352
    Offline

    JCo352 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    This happened to me once when traveling from northeast Texas to Florida, I was in Louisiana, and it showed me below Houston about to drive into the Gulf. I rebooted and the problem was fixed, I have also heard that moving the phone in a figure eight pattern helps.
     
  6. pilot25
    Offline

    pilot25 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    697
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    I have had that happen a few times here in DC. It would show me in Iowa. I think maybe they are doing something with the system or we don't have proper satellite coverage.

    After the last update I have noticed it takes the device a lot longer to pinpoint my location and even only gets me within 20 meters when it would be within 2 meter before.
     
  7. jarby
    Offline

    jarby Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's just weird, but I guess it makes sense.

    I was checking around where it had me on GPS and saw Crystal Lake......I was starting to think that Jason was coming for me.

    But it's all good now. I was just wondering if it was something I did or a rogue app or something.
     
  8. Mary614
    Offline

    Mary614 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mine just started doing this, also, after working correctly for 7 months or so.

    I've been trying to pinpoint the symptoms, but, I noticed it first using the "My Location" in Weatherbug. Next, I saw the same wrong info under the News & Weather from Google.

    After perfect accuracy, it suddenly moved me from Idaho to New Mexico. The best I can figure so far is, it goes nuts shortly after selecting "Use Wireless Networks" in addition to "Use GPS" under the main settings (Settings>Location&Security). It's as if the network signals are somehow screwing it up.

    Last night, after getting good "Maps" info with just "GPS" ticked, I added "Use networks", and it soon parked me on a hill near I-40 in New Mexico again. As much as I love NM, this phone has never been there.

    It's really infuriating. I NEED accurate weather/maps info in my work, and this ain't cutting it.

    Verizon spent several hours today trying to help me, but, so far nothing works. They're calling back tomorrow, to keep trying.

    It's a real mystery, because the phone worked superbly until these last few weeks.

    moto droid, 2.2.1.
     
  9. chrstdvd
    Offline

    chrstdvd Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    McKenney Va
    Ratings:
    +0
    Same thing two threads up from this one. "My Location has Suddenly Flipped out"
     
  10. ypsichick
    Offline

    ypsichick Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Western KY and W. Los Angeles 3 miles from the bea
    Ratings:
    +0
    I found that my phone does that after I search for a company, I found it picks up that website location, and when I next pull up my maps or weather its "confused" and places me where that business was located.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  11. mack19318
    Offline

    mack19318 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Tampa
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mine is crazy too! Once tried to have me go all the way into illinois when I was just trying to find a new restraunt in millwaukee. Lots of times in full 3g service area the geolocation notification goes off.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
Search tags for this page
android not showing correct location
,
android not showing my location correctly
,
gps dont show correct location
,
gps location not accurate android
,

gps not showing correct location

,
how to correct wrong gps location
,
map tracking not correct
,
my gps is not showing my location correctly
,
my gps location is not accurate
,
my gps location is not correct