GPS issue

Discussion in 'Cyanogenmod - X' started by psychicdroid, Sep 7, 2010.

  1. psychicdroid

    psychicdroid Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've called verizon and they have no clue so they're sending me a replacement. I really want to fix my phone if it's at all possible. I got the recent OTS on 9/4. When I open google maps it shows me as 200 miles from where I am. After a bit it will eventually correct itself, but if I close GM next time I open it it's got me back 200 miles away. Also my location in my browser is a different location in the same general area 200 miles away. My weather and news app same thing, 200 miles away but in a 3rd location.

    Everythng was working fine until the original 2.2 update, newest update fixed some issues I was having with my phone being slow, but now the gps has gone crazy. I've done battery pulls and resets and it still does the same thing.
     
  2. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    Have you checked the market to make sure you have the latest version?
     
  3. psychicdroid

    psychicdroid Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Latest version of what? Google maps is up to date. Took it into the store tonight, but again somebody who didn't know anything about the phone. So I have to go back in the morning when the tech is actually there. Hopefully he'll have a clue what he's doing.
     
  4. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,163
    Likes Received:
    372
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +455
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    Are you set to use the network location? If so it'll show that instead of the GPS till the GPS connects.

    Try turning that off.
     
  5. psychicdroid

    psychicdroid Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Network locations is already off.
     
  6. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,163
    Likes Received:
    372
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +455
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    That was my first idea. Next up is, are you running a weather widget? Double-check the running services to see if the news and weather genie is running. If it is, try killing it and see if that fixes your problem because it may be identifying your location as 200 miles away. If it's not then I'm pretty much out of ideas.

    Try turning the network location on and see if it still sends you 200 miles off track till the GPS kicks in. If so, I'm 100% out of ideas. If not, I have a hunch what's up, but since I'm no expert I'll probably be wrong. :)
     
  7. FunN4Lo

    FunN4Lo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    946
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +19
    Click your location on Google maps on a PC to get you longitude and latitude Download GPS status from the market and see what it tells you. Do they match? How long does it take to acquire sats? How many sats does your phone see? What is your fix/Sat ratio? What distance is your error? Is you speed (zero) sitting still accurate? Speed match to your speedo in the car (at least closely as car speedos can be off) when moving?
     
  8. psychicdroid

    psychicdroid Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    They are pretty close. Sitting at my desk I see 0/3 but if I go to the window I see 9/10. When I walk to the window it's almost instantanious. It's too late at night to do the speed thing right now. Error is 157 ft

    Since downloading the gps status app, when I open google maps it instantly corrects now. Although my other 2 apps are still not.
     
  9. psychicdroid

    psychicdroid Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I take this back, I had turned it off, but when I went into the store tonight the guy enabled it. When I turned it back off, it now will not find a location. when I go into google maps it says current location unavailable, same thing with the weather app. I didn't try the browser.
     
  10. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,163
    Likes Received:
    372
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +455
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    It's next to impossible to get a GPS signal inside a building, so if that's turned on that might be what was giving you such a whacked locale.
     
  11. psychicdroid

    psychicdroid Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    It had been working up until I got the new ota on Sat. I was getting a correct location inside my house. Now it won't even give a correct location when I'm outside.
     
  12. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,163
    Likes Received:
    372
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +455
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    Try reinstalling the update. Manually installing an update tends to fix most issues with said update.

    I don't know where I'd find the mater OTA for FRG22D, but someone has it.

    FRG22D updated GPS drivers, so it makes sense that if you got a bad install of it your GPS system would be greatly affected.
     
Search tags for this page

cyanogenmod 7 droid x gps fix

,
cyanogenmod 7 gps fix droid x
,
cyanogenmod droid razr gps
,
cyanogenmod nightlies gps issue
,
droid dna gps problem cyanogenmod
,
droid pro gps fix
,
droid x2 cm7 gps
,
gps droid razr cyanogenmod
,
motorola gps problem cyanogenmod android