GPS Down?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid' started by MonkeyTime, Jan 10, 2010.

  1. MonkeyTime

    MonkeyTime Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    East Troy, WI
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes I know, GPS can't be down.

    Ok, I've been using the gps a lot over the last couple of weeks and have grown to be somewhat dependent on it.

    However, starting today, I can't get a signal anywhere. I've changed my settings to include cell signal, but it's really useless for navigation.

    Thinking it may have to do with a program upgrade, I started up in safe mode, but still no change. The funny thing is, if I hit the "my location" button, it puts me up in Canada, and then starts drifting slowly, but never makes it's way back to Wisconsin.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. LuN3yDaV3

    LuN3yDaV3 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mine wasn't working a couple days go. Neither was my wife's sprint navigation. So could have been alien interference
     
  3. MonkeyTime

    MonkeyTime Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    East Troy, WI
    Ratings:
    +0
    So far, that's about the only thing that makes sense.

    Since my first post, my wife has gotten home with her droid and I was able to try it. Hers wasn't able to find a location either, but was able to navigate when searching. Go higher figure.
     
  4. tmwfla

    tmwfla New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've had this same problem recently. It's frustrating, since I, too, have become a little used to the nav feature now (not "dependent" on it though). It finds "my location" just fine, but when I try to use the nav, it just keep looking for a signal.
     
  5. MonkeyTime

    MonkeyTime Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    East Troy, WI
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm dependent on it in terms of using out for work, it's just too easy to map out a days worth of job sites and customers and stop thinking about where I'm going next lol


    So have either of you found a solution?
     
  6. aristo1963

    aristo1963 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Goldsboro,N.C.
    Ratings:
    +0
    If it is very cloudy or stormy ,the GPS signals get lost.
     
  7. Martin030908

    Martin030908 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,773
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had a similar problem for a day... I found that if I went into the phone location settings, and disabled GPS and 'use wireless networks'.... and then enabled GPS it found me no problem. I then went back and re-enabled 'use wireless networks' and all was well. Don't know why this worked or what went on... just wanted to post my finding. Maybe it'll help someone.
     
  8. TheDJ

    TheDJ Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not to go off-topic, but since you mentioned it - what exactly is the setting 'use wireless networks?' should that be off when GPS is on? Do certian apps use this setting?

    Also - I have not had a problem with the navigation, and just used it yesterday.
     
  9. Martin030908

    Martin030908 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,773
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    "use wireless networks" means that your position/location will be determined by the nearest cell tower that you are receiving your signal from. Doesn't have to be off to use GPS... I leave it on so that if I Google something (without GPS on) it will still give me search results based on my location.
     
  10. TheDJ

    TheDJ Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK great - thank you.
     
  11. Martin030908

    Martin030908 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,773
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    You're welcome
     
  12. jimnutt

    jimnutt Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Morrisville, NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    Was it particularly snowy the day you were having GPS problems? Heavy snow can attenuate the GPS signals enough that they can't be picked up by a cell phone GPS even when a dedicated GPS (which typically has a better antenna) can. I was having trouble the other day in heavy snow, when I got to breaks in the snow it was able to lock on.
     
Search tags for this page

what location consent should i use for my smartphone