GPS does not work

Discussion in 'Samsung Droid Charge' started by JoelGonzalezacc, Aug 23, 2011.

  1. MarkO

    MarkO Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Here in Lowell it takes a minute or two, but up at my house in rural NH it takes a lot longer and usually I give up after about 5-10 minutes. Sucks, because that's when I need it for navigation.

    Samsung/Google/Verizon really need to work on this issue. I could not see this happening with an iPhone.
     
  2. Kassy.matthews

    Kassy.matthews New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had this same problem... I downloaded agps tracker that does what sats its looking at. I turn on google gps and the phone gps and start both google maps and gps tracker and that seemed to help a little. One thing o found is that if you turn your blue tooth on it locks aLOT faster...

    Sent from my SCH-I510 using DroidForums
     
  3. Halo

    Halo Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    For those that are interested, flashing the EP1W modem seems to have corrected this issue. For advanced users, you can edit your /system/etc/gps.conf to lock on to only North American satellites. My GPS locks in usually in 30-45 secs.
     
  4. sdppm

    sdppm New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I hate when I finf the solutition and its not the phone.

    We have two phones and the GPS sucked on both and their replacements. Followed the instructions above and they both work fine, Dammit. Thanks for a solutition that works. you would think someone at Verizon could of known this.
     
  5. bananaphone

    bananaphone New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Samsung doesn't know how to make GPS. See the scandal with the 1st gen Galaxy S phones.
     
  6. jbinbi

    jbinbi New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can you give more directions (no pun intended;-) or a link to where I find out how to do this. Thanks.
     
  7. MarkO

    MarkO Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    How much time does it take to root? I'm coming from an OG Droid I had rooted, but have yet to do so with the Charge. Also, is there mobile hotspot/wifi with root?
    Sorry to sidetrack, but if a rooted rom is what we need to get GPS to work, this may push me back into the dark side. ;)
     
  8. Stelv

    Stelv Silver Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,656
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Western NY
    Ratings:
    +8
    Hey guys. I am lurking over here because my GF was looking at the Charge. Looks like Samsung is up to their old tricks. The GPS and the Radio in the Galaxy S1 model phones where poorly built. I had a Fascinate and the GPS actually almost never worked. Looks like Samsung put the same crappy GPS into the Charge too. A trick that I use to do sometimes would be to toggle airplance mode or data off then on and sometimes it would work.
     
  9. jwd45244

    jwd45244 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I will let you know that this is fixed in the next release. I am running the 2.3.5 EP3H gingerbread rom (I was tired of waiting for Sammy and VZW to get their act together). GPS locks on to satellites within 2 or 3 seconds. It is awesome
     
  10. cheapskate863

    cheapskate863 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    edit your /system/etc/gps.conf

    Can you please give more info....really would like to give this a try!
     
  11. AstroBoy

    AstroBoy Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you're rooted, you can freeze or delete AngryGPS.apk. This works for me and I now get gpsocks in 10 sec or less.

    Sent from my SCH-I510 using Tapatalk
     
  12. cheapskate863

    cheapskate863 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Fixed my problem

    I don't know why I even tried it but I turned off the WiFi and have never had a problem with the 3G since, works great!
     
Search tags for this page

droid charge gps not working

,
droid charge gps problems
,
droid charge says gps unavailable
,
gps not working droid charge
,
gps on my phone doesn't work
,
gps.conf motorola droid2
,
samsung 738c gps not locating satellute
,

samsung charge gps not working

,
samsung charge gps stopped working
,
samsung charge no gps