1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

GPS data use

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 3' started by GreenSnow, Nov 11, 2011.

  1. GreenSnow
    Offline

    GreenSnow New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Does anyone know an estimate of how much data the google maps/directions/gps uses?

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  2. REMilk
    Offline

    REMilk New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    764
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    On a Cribbage board
    Though I have no hard evidence, I have seen little increase in my monthly usage on those month's when I used GPS extensively.
  3. Saik0Shinigami
    Offline

    Saik0Shinigami New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2011
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    GPS data itself doesn't use your data limit(think of it as another data transmitter that's linked to an entirely different service that Verizon can't charge for)... it's things like downloading the map data and terrain tiles (they're just pictures) that use data since those actually come from a Google server.

    If you use the cache feature and only stick around one area no matter how much you go around you'll see virtually no data use. But if you're running around a lot in new places or without the cache feature you'll see more. It should never use more data then standard web surfing in practice.
  4. GreenSnow
    Offline

    GreenSnow New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What do you mean cach feature? Do I have to enable that or is that the default setting? I.e. If i go into Maps, type in an address and hit Directions, is that it? (With no terrain maps of course)

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  5. Saik0Shinigami
    Offline

    Saik0Shinigami New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2011
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Open Google Maps hit menu key> settings> Cache Settings. There you can set up a number of things... like to allow pre-caching on wifi only or stuff like that.

    If you long press an area, and then click the bubble that pops up there's an option called pre-cache... it will download a 10 mi radius around the area so it won't need to download that block of area while navigating. Should even sit in your phone until you delete your cache. So it won't need to use your data to download those areas until that cache goes missing.


    edit: If the feature of pre-caching is missing enable it in labs.
    edit 2: This won't stop any data from downloading... just alleviate some of the downloading that occurs.
Search tags for this page
does google maps use data on verizon
,
does google maps use data verizon
,
does gps use a lot of data
,
does gps use data
,
does gps use data on verizon
,

does gps use data verizon

,
does navigation use data on verizon
,
does navigation use data verizon
,

gps data usage

,
how much data does android gps use
,
how much data does google maps use android
,

how much data does gps use

,
how much data does gps use android
,
how much data does gps use on verizon
,
verizon gps data usage