1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

GPS Broken?

Discussion in 'Team D1-MIUI' started by Taco, Aug 20, 2011.

  1. Taco
    Offline

    Taco New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    I flashed MIUI 3.16 a week or two back and had no problems except the navigation wouldn't work. My location would be off by a few miles if not dead on but no turn by turn navigation.

    I wiped data and cache and flashed a stock froyo rom. Same issue. I wiped data and cache and reverted to my last known point of working navi. Still hangs at finding gps.

    Any ideas? :(

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  2. magiman7
    Offline

    magiman7 Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ruston, LA
    Miui 3.16? That is from quite a while ago. Shouldn't have done anything to affect gps. My wife's phone will occassionally have the gps be off. Usually turning the gps off and back on and then allowing it a few minutes with clear view of the sky will correct it.
  3. Taco
    Offline

    Taco New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    Yea I wanted a froyo build instead of gb.

    I've tried battery pulls toggling gps and wifi and I've downloaded those gps test apps from the market and my phone won't fix to a single satellite .... it shows 4 in the sky but no fix.

    I really need navi for the upcoming week and idk what to do.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  4. magiman7
    Offline

    magiman7 Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ruston, LA
    Just for something to test, have you tried latest nightly from Cyanogen Mod 7? I know it is GB, but I am not sure what to recommend for you to try.
  5. Taco
    Offline

    Taco New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    Nope I haven't ... I tend to shy away from gb seeing as it broke my market from ever auto restoring my apps it seems :/

    I mean its worth a shot ... I didn't inted for this post to point the finger @ miui btw just figured you guys might have some insight or a workaround.

    I googled the hell out of this and other phones have weird phone programming #s to call but all I can find for the droid is from 09 and its as simple as a battery pull or a reboot :/

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  6. Taco
    Offline

    Taco New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    Okay now google maps says I'm in Spain >.< idk wtc is up.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  7. Htown315
    Offline

    Htown315 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    Messages:
    456
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Syracuse N.Y.
    Nothing is wrong with your phone it's the Google Maps 5.9.0 app. Delete Google Maps 5.9.0 and install version 5.8.0 or older. Reboot and problem solved. APKTOP
  8. Taco
    Offline

    Taco New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    I'm on 5.8 :( ... maybe sbfing to stock might work

    New market just pushed to my device and says maps isn't installed ... odd. Sigh.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  9. Htown315
    Offline

    Htown315 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    Messages:
    456
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Syracuse N.Y.
    Doh! I had the same problem today but for me it was the update.
  10. Taco
    Offline

    Taco New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    I don't get it maps finds me but navigation loses me after a while then says I'm in spain

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  11. Htown315
    Offline

    Htown315 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    Messages:
    456
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Syracuse N.Y.
    Hmmm...idk, I'd SBF and call it a day.
  12. Taco
    Offline

    Taco New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    Seems like ill have to :/

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
Search tags for this page

broken gps droid x2

,
google mapssays i'm in spain
,
gps android brok
,
gps is broken
,
how to fix broken gps on android
,
miui gps off
,

miui s3 gps problem

,
no gps on miui
,
paranoid droid gps breaks