GPS barely ever works on Ss5.1

Discussion in 'ChevyNo1' started by haxerpaylay, Mar 21, 2011.

  1. haxerpaylay

    haxerpaylay Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +1
    I use Chevy's latest rom and have constant trouble with the GPS never working. I must restart my phone and occasionally it helps and my GPS starts working again. Is there something I can do to fix this?

    Any ideas?
     
  2. ChevyNo1

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +5
    There seems to be a bug in 2.3.3 - if you turn OFF gps, a reboot seems to be needed to re-enable. Or are you having a different issue, ie. you are in maps, and gps suddenly quits?
     
  3. haxerpaylay

    haxerpaylay Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +1
    Well I do turn it off ussually keep it off. But when I turn it on to use navigation, it can never find the GPS. Now lets say I try to "check in" at a location on Facebook it usually always works. So I'm really not sure what's wrong....

    The reason I turn it off is because I heard it uses alot of battery. Is this true or should I just leave it on?
     
  4. ChevyNo1

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +5
    If you leave it on in settings, it is not really 'ON' unless an app turns it on. An example - if it's checked on, the icon is not present. Open up maps however, and you can see it acquire. Exit maps, the icon goes away.

    The only 'risk' as I see it, is an app could potentially turn it on without you noticing, and therefore suck battery, or know where you are.

    Someone correct me if I'm wrong ...

    BUT the bug remains - if you have it on, then turn it off, it either will NOT work without a reboot, or at best MAYBE it will work. logcat shows nothing, so not sure how to fix it.
     
  5. soondolee

    soondolee Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    i have same problem and gps signal problem as well...i mean signal is very weak.

    i compared to D2 in same place....d2 have great signal but not my d1...

    any1 has same problem??
     
  6. ChevyNo1

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +5
    How are you verifying that the signal is weak? The icon shows no strength ... I assume you are using an app that gives actual #'s?
     
  7. haxerpaylay

    haxerpaylay Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +1
    Also is there any fix for the auto brightness. That's another problem I have.
     
  8. ChevyNo1

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +5
    That is already listed in the bugs thread ...
     
  9. droidic

    droidic Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    maryland
    Ratings:
    +0
    I never turn GPS off so I have never experienced this issue

    Simply Stunning Gingerbread 5.1 low voltage 1.2ghz
     
  10. coovee

    coovee Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0

    GPS Notification does..its free in market..once installed it provides graphs and numbers for gps...its also good because that starts as soon as you press navigation. updated real time

    GPS Notification - Android
     
  11. ChevyNo1

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +5
    Yes, I understand that there are apps that show it - was particularly interested in how soondolee knows that the signal is weak ... haven't heard this from anyone else
     
  12. jpblock82

    jpblock82 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Feel I should add to this one. I have the exact same issue on 5.1. I can turn on GPS, find my dead-on location within Maps, but attempting to navigate to an address and it gets stuck at "searching for GPS..." Only fix seems to reboot, then it does work. This never happened on 5.0 or 5.0.1, so it must be a 2.3.3 thing. Either way, your ROMs still kickass Chevy, so thank you!!!