GPS and 3G questions

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid' started by krpiper, May 9, 2010.

  1. krpiper
    Offline

    krpiper Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello,

    This may of been asked before but.

    Where I live I have 100% 3G service. I plan on traveling about 6 hours away and I can almost guarantee I will NOT have 3G service the whole way.

    Can I still use Navigator and the GPS, WITHOUT 3G coverage (Just the 1x coverage)

    can someone clarify?

    Thanks
  2. LtKen
    Offline

    LtKen Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,637
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yes, but the maps will load slower. Nav uses GPS to calculate your position, but requires the data connection to donwnload the maps.
  3. krpiper
    Offline

    krpiper Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I'm just on CDMA, it will still work and turn by turn will still be ok?
  4. LtKen
    Offline

    LtKen Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,637
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +1
    What do you mean "Just on CDMA"? The whole Verizon network is CDMA....

    Everything will still work, it will just be slower to get to your phone.
  5. krpiper
    Offline

    krpiper Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +0
    No 3G coverage, I live in Iowa, and a "Metro" area. I plan on visiting MN, where I have CDMA service but NO 3G service
  6. nagmier
    Offline

    nagmier Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    3G on ATT and 3G on Verizon are not the same... CDMA is the network type all Verizon is CDMA... regardless of 3g or 1x