1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

GPS Accuracy

Discussion in 'Liberty ROM DX' started by twalbaum, Feb 16, 2011.

  1. twalbaum
    Offline

    twalbaum New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Has anyone else experienced a horrible decrease in the accuracy of your GPS position? My phone used to be pretty accurate sitting at my desk indoors, but now it's HORRIBLE. My position radius is HUGE. Usually, if I turn on wi-fi, it becomes pretty accurate, but I used to not have to do that just to get an accurate reading. However, I'm looking at Maps right now, with wi-fi enabled, and the radius is huge. What gives?

    EDIT: After ten minutes of sitting here with wi-fi on, the accuracy dropped to something more reasonable. But only for a couple seconds! Now it's huge again, but not as huge as before.
  2. droidxchat
    Offline

    droidxchat New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Im pretty sure wireless is less accurate at positioning than normal gps. If it dropped to something reasonable for a sec, maybe you lost wifi for a sec and it used real gps instead?

    Not positive tho,

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
  3. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    How big is the radius? I'm home right now and the radius is just smaller than my apartment, I consider that pretty accurate and usually when I'm outside driving it gets even more accurate.

    tappin and a talkin
  4. twalbaum
    Offline

    twalbaum New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Even with Wi-Fi off, it's horrendous. In the past, accuracy improved with the activation of Wi-Fi. Also, I was under the impression GPS and Wi-Fi worked together, not in place of eachother. I could be wrong though.

    Regarding the radius, it changes, but usually occupies a quarter to half the city of 28,000 that I live in, excluding the edges and beyond of the city. So yea, not my building. Not even close...

    Sent from Outer Space using Magic!
  5. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    You have both settings turned on under location and security ya?

    tappin and a talkin
  6. twalbaum
    Offline

    twalbaum New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Wireless networks: check;
    GPS satellites: check.
    Any other ideas?

    Sent from Outer Space using Magic!
  7. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Hmmm is it like this anywhere you go in the city? **I may be about to make a fool of myself with my lack of knowledge about gps, just be aware of that** I've heard that gps gets less accurate if not in view of open sky so maybe its just that the gps is of little help inside your house. Again i know as close to nothing about gps as possible so i could be way off.

    tappin and a talkin
  8. twalbaum
    Offline

    twalbaum New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    GPS is most accurate when it has a clear view of the sky. I haven't really checked it when I'm outside because I'm usually going some where. I'll check tomorrow.
    On a side note, sometimes my dad, who has a stock X, shows up on my latitude like 20 miles away from where he actually is, but shows a pretty accurate reading (or small radius, I should say). And it only does it at his house. Mine used to do the same thing, at the same location, when I would visit. I don't know if it still does it for me, but it does for him for sure.

    Sent from Outer Space using Magic!
  9. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    That's what I was also getting at. Like I said I don't know much about gas but there are some locations that I would refer to as a "gas faraday cage" if that makes sense. For instance the last job i had was at a mall in orange county and my store gave the craziest gps readings, i would be inside and it would show me being accurately placed about ten miles away, walk outside and it would place me exactly where i was to within a few feet, but go back inside and bam i'm clear accross town again.

    tappin and a talkin
  10. twalbaum
    Offline

    twalbaum New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What confuses me is my GPS used to be pretty accurate where I'm at right now. Then I notice it randomly got really terrible, seemingly after going to liberty.

    Sent from Outer Space using Magic!
  11. mbjr
    Offline

    mbjr New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Same problem here, gps shows me on other side of freeway and CONSTANTLY re-routing in google maps. I use my gps all the time, this is new in Liberty 1.5
  12. Lex_Luthor
    Offline

    Lex_Luthor New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Washington State
    GPS doesnt even work for me. It used to work before i went to Liberty and a friend told me that GPS sucked on this ROM now i believe him.
  13. twalbaum
    Offline

    twalbaum New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    GPS improves when I'm outside, as expected. But that doesn't tell me much about why it's so terrible in a place that used to give reasonable accuracy.
  14. wawzat
    Offline

    wawzat New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've been on 1.5 since the day it was released and gps has been accurate until yestersday, when it started putting me on the wrong side of the freeway and rerouting a lot. I went into settings/applications/maps and cleared data and it seems better now.

    Edit: or the solar flare stopped and it was just a coincidence. Lol
  15. carosati3
    Offline

    carosati3 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    gps is off about 3/4 of a mile for me. the sky is clear too. not sure what is going on.
  16. mbjr
    Offline

    mbjr New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You guys under volted at all? I had slot 4 at 1100/60 phone is uber stable, no funny business or lock-ups at all but GPS was prob. I bumped voltage to 62 and GPS seems to be working great now. I'll have to do some more testing and report back but you may want to try it.
  17. dlbrown75
    Offline

    dlbrown75 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The GPS is messing up because of the solar flare that happened on Feb 14. Scientist said GPS problems would be one of the effects. Look it up.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
  18. twalbaum
    Offline

    twalbaum New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    True, but what about problems before Valentine's Day. I made my post because I had been having problems long enough for me to think it wasn't just temporary.

    Sent from Outer Space using Magic!
Search tags for this page
accuracy of motorola droid gps
,
android gps bad accuracy
,
droid 4 gps accuracy
,

droid x gps accuracy

,
how to improve gps accuracy on droid x2
,
increasing gps accuracy on motorola xoom
,
motorola droid x2 gps accuracy
,

motorola xoom gps accuracy

,
verizon gps not accurate
,
xoom gps better accuracy