GPA10 Transparent pulldown

Discussion in 'Bugless' started by hett, Feb 12, 2011.

  1. hett

    hett Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    South Florida
    Ratings:
    +1
    Any chance we can see a patch of some sort to enable transparency in the pulldown? Liquid has it, I'd like to see it in this.
     
  2. Split630

    Split630 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Also would love that! What about a Metamorph?

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  3. apops

    apops Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    This is not bugless beast, it is just stock gingerbread. I would assume it will be found the next version of bugless beast. along with some other goodies.
     
  4. Skurvy_Pirate

    Skurvy_Pirate Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have modified GPA12 to have a transparent pulldown along with a sweet Blazers icon. Also I changed the progress bars (Browser, volume, etc.) from yellow back to the green that is in BB. The green looks way better with the whole GB them in my opinion.

    If you are still looking for a transparent pulldown let me know and I can figure out how to make an update.zip of it and send it to you.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2011
  5. hett

    hett Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    South Florida
    Ratings:
    +1
    Can you just tell me how you did it? I would much rather put it together myself.
     
  6. Skurvy_Pirate

    Skurvy_Pirate Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah no problem. It wouldn't contain all that other stuff (Blazers logo, colors, etc) that stuff I was just showing off haha. It would be just for transparent pulldown.

    But if you want to do it yourself I will write up the details when I get home from work.

    Sent from my Droid
     
  7. hett

    hett Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    South Florida
    Ratings:
    +1
    Many thanks!
     
  8. Skurvy_Pirate

    Skurvy_Pirate Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Ratings:
    +0
    So normally the image for the status bar pulldown background is in framework-res, but for GB it is under the SystemUI.apk. But stock GB doesn't even use the image, instead it uses a hardcoded color value that is defined in status_bar_tracking.xml.

    You need to decompile SystemUI.apk using Apk manager, then edit status_bar_tracking.xml to point to shade_bg (the pulldown background image) the drawable folder instead (change the hex color value to @drawable/shade_bg).

    Then recompile and push the new SystemUI.apk to your phone. Then when you want to change the image, just go into SystemUI.apk and replace shade_bg with whatever you want it to be and push it to your phone. No need to decompile/recompile once you have changed status_bar_tracking.xml to point to the right location.
     
  9. DHO

    DHO Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    NOLA
    Ratings:
    +1
    tag for later
     
  10. hett

    hett Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    South Florida
    Ratings:
    +1
    Skurvy, do you think you could just provide me with the modified xml file? APK manager is giving me an error when I try to decompile, and I can't figure out APK Tool.
     
  11. Skurvy_Pirate

    Skurvy_Pirate Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Ratings:
    +0
  12. hett

    hett Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    South Florida
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks, that worked. Unfortunately it looks like the way the art for the background is handled has changed since 2.2, and the background I made for myself (with the android guy peeking out of the corner) still looks good in portrait, but gets all squished in landscape (used to just not be able to see the android in landscape, but now it squishes the entire picture into the visible frame).

    :(
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Mar 1, 2011
  13. Sileem

    Sileem Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Where is systemUI.apk? It's not in my /system/frameworks folder
     
  14. hett

    hett Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    South Florida
    Ratings:
    +1
    /system/app
     
  15. Sileem

    Sileem Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the info guys! I'll upload my plain transparent black pulldown for all of us that like things stock.
     
Search tags for this page
edit system ui transparent pull down
,

how to access systemui.apk