Got new droid 3

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 3' started by pxndx89, Oct 29, 2011.

  1. pxndx89

    pxndx89 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    What do u guys suggest me to do with my new droid 3 I used to have a droid 2 global...thanks

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
  2. NoBloatware

    NoBloatware Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Messages:
    746
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    Enjoy it!!!!

    I would install ADW, Dolphin HD, ...
     
  3. Yonnor

    Yonnor I r Teh Greetest

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Messages:
    813
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    San Diego
    Ratings:
    +2
    Root and debloat, and maybe find a rom you like and flash it

    Sent via my Hamburger Phone
     
  4. pxndx89

    pxndx89 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Koo koo ill keep that in mind but ill probably do the rooting soon...so thanks for the advice

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
  5. spunker88

    spunker88 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Do what you did on your Droid 2 except faster. If you are new to rooting or flashing you could experiment on your Droid 2 if you still have it.
     
  6. GreenSnow

    GreenSnow Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    There is a great ROM called steeldroid, it is located under the D3 thread, there's great instructions for installation

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
  7. pxndx89

    pxndx89 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well I already root it n it works even faster thanks for the advice.....I had root it my droid 2 but in this one it seems a lot better love this phone

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
  8. GreenSnow

    GreenSnow Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Did you just root? What else did you do?
    Simply rooting shouldn't change anything performance wise, it just gives you access to the entire phone

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
  9. pxndx89

    pxndx89 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well yeah I kno...I installed the steeldroid rom

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
  10. GreenSnow

    GreenSnow Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Cool, right on welcome to the dark side of the D3 world

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
  11. Droid3Guy

    Droid3Guy Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    A question. How do you change things performance wise? Just by uninstalling all of the bloatware or are there other things you can do with a rooted phone to make it faster? Thanks.
     
  12. GreenSnow

    GreenSnow Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    I am probably not the one to give you a full answer about that, I basically stick with having other people do the work for me, I just do a custom ROM and call it good, im sure there are other things you can do though

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums