Got my X2

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid X2' started by jaded, May 19, 2011.

  1. jaded
    Offline

    jaded New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I really didn't want to get another motorola as my original X was giving me problems. I got impatient and hooked up with the X2 today.

    So far it is snappier but most phones are before loading in all my apps. The screen has almost a blue tinge to it compared to my X and my friends Incredible 2. Text is sharper with the qHD screen over the X. Video recording appears to be MUCH smoother as well as being able to zoom WHILE recording. The camera focus is better, but I still find the pictures lacking in depth and detail. I just came from running Liberty Gingerbread on the X and noticed many Gingerbread elements in the moto UI even though it is 2.2

    Otherwise same size phone, sans camera button, fits in orig. X case. Uses same BH5X battery. That is all I can think of for now. Going to load up some of my apps and hope everything stays smooth.
    Last edited: May 19, 2011
  2. jacobbones
    Offline

    jacobbones New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I ordered one and wont get until tomorrow.

    Can you tell me if the netflix app works? (on stock phone)
    Last edited: May 19, 2011
  3. jjaeger
    Offline

    jjaeger New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I really have not had prolems but it sounds like you got an excellent buy.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  4. jjaeger
    Offline

    jjaeger New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Be honest it does not sound like you have had a beta test on that bad boy.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  5. BlackTTC6
    Offline

    BlackTTC6 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I love my DX and as much as i want the DX2 i cannot make myself buy a non LTE phone. God damn you Verizon
  6. yutzybrian
    Offline

    yutzybrian New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Haven't had a single problem with my Moto.

    Getting my X2 tomm morning from a local non-corporate store. Was waiting for a dual core phone with 8mp camera and don't care about 4g so I'm just a bit excited. Upgrading from a OG is gonna be a big step up.
  7. HEMLOCK
    Offline

    HEMLOCK New Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I picked mine up a couple hours ago. So far, its amazing. Very fast & smooth. Yes, of course there's a lot of bloat, but it doesnt seem to be a terrible problem right now.

    I did run a quick quadrant & got 2424 out of the box with most of my apps already loaded on. Impressive.
  8. BlackTTC6
    Offline

    BlackTTC6 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Can't wait to see some overclocked scores
  9. jroc
    Offline

    jroc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,843
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Washington DC
    LOL!! I feel ya...

    I may bite the bullet, if not with the X with some phone probably on another carrier if I dont stay.
  10. rlarson_mn
    Offline

    rlarson_mn New Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    There have been a lot of speculation on the amount of ram that the X2 comes with. How much did your unit actually come with?
  11. dAi
    Offline

    dAi New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    How much ram did it had froyo or gb

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  12. micho
    Offline

    micho New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    behind a dumpster
    Anyone with a dx2 rooted if you could plz post the build prop file I would be very thankful. And yes gingerbreak will root it
  13. twistedlim
    Offline

    twistedlim New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Can you open the build prop file via root explorer if you are not rooted? RE will work but I am not sure if you can open the file?
  14. 252chevyboyz
    Offline

    252chevyboyz New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,031
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Does the X2 have Blur on it? Also lookin forward to seeing what can be done with the X2 once its rooted and has Dev's making ROM's for it
  15. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,437
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    TX
  16. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,437
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    TX
    yes it has blur - sense is still > blur, but blur is improved
  17. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,437
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    TX
    for those of you in this thread that have the DX2 now - thoughts on the screen? It seems the resolution is obviously better, and it gets pretty bright, but scrolling when there's white on black text makes it flicker a lot, scrolling the homescreen seems to leave very subtle "trails" of icons/widgets as it moves... it's weird - doesn't seem as smooth as previous phones. Also wallpapers (try live smoke for example) don't seem to like the screen very much... fades look crappy, etc. Just wondering if I'm crazy or not...
  18. twistedlim
    Offline

    twistedlim New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    # begin build properties
    # autogenerated by buildinfo.sh
    ro.build.id=4.4.1_274_DTN-14.8
    ro.build.display.id=4.4.1_274_DTN-14.8
    ro.build.version.incremental=110418
    ro.build.version.sdk=8
    ro.build.version.codename=REL
    ro.build.version.release=2.2.2
    ro.build.date=Mon Apr 18 00:53:40 EDT 2011
    ro.build.date.utc=1303102420
    ro.build.type=user
    ro.build.user=mqr374
    ro.build.host=nj05lnxdroid01
    ro.build.tags=release-keys
    ro.product.model=DROID X2
    ro.product.brand=verizon
    ro.product.name=daytona
    ro.product.device=daytona
    ro.product.board=daytona
    ro.product.cpu.abi=armeabi-v7a
    ro.product.cpu.abi2=armeabi
    ro.product.manufacturer=motorola
    ro.product.locale.language=en
    ro.product.locale.region=US
    ro.wifi.channels=
    ro.board.platform=tegra
    # ro.build.product is obsolete; use ro.product.device
    ro.build.product=daytona
    # Do not try to parse ro.build.description or .fingerprint
    ro.build.description=daytona-user 2.2.2 4.4.1_274_DTN-14.8 110418 release-keys
    ro.build.fingerprint=verizon/daytona/daytona/daytona:2.2.2/4.4.1_274_DTN-14.8/110418:user/release-keys
    # end build properties
    # CDMA RIL ---------------------
    persist.ril.uart.flowctrl=1
    persist.ril.mux.ttydevice=/dev/ttyHS3
    #IKXETNA-176: Increased number of mux channels to include M2M.
    persist.ril.mux.noofchannels=8
    persist.ril.modem.ttydevice=/dev/ttySPI0
    persist.ril.modem.mode=1
    #IKSTABLEFOUR-7865/8078 Enabling MUX_PANIC_NOTIF/DEFAULT_BAND_FEATURE
    persist.ril.features=0x0C
    #Commenting out the rild path here. Check daytona.mk
    # Comment the following line for use with Multimode or LTE RIL
    # rild.libpath=/system/lib/libmoto_ril.so
    # End of CDMA RIL --------------

    # LTE RIL ----------------------
    # Comment the following line for use with Multimode or CDMA RIL
    # rild.libpath=/system/lib/lib-mot-lte-ril.so
    # End of LTE RIL ---------------

    # Multimode RIL ----------------
    #lte_ril.libpath=/system/lib/lib-mot-lte-ril.so
    #cdma_ril.libpath=/system/lib/libmoto_ril.so
    #ril.rat=LTE
    # Comment the following line for use with CDMA or LTE RIL
  19. twistedlim
    Offline

    twistedlim New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Like it so far, but I loaded up my stand by launcher pro so everything is smooth as butter. It is brighter with more contrast. The apps and functions are snappier but not really a big difference from the x. Ran 2 quadrant scores 2500 something and 2600 something for what that is worth. Nice so far, not a huge upgrade but I really want to see what this will do unleashed.

    PS the NEtflix app does not work, (not recogized by the phone) :(. I guess root or an updated app. It may be in the market soon anyway as it is for some other android phones.
    Last edited: May 20, 2011
  20. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,437
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    TX
    after some research, it appears the screen "issues" i'm seeing are due to the fact that, apparently, the DX2 has a pentile screen like the Atrix... can't verify that for sure, but it sure looks like it... supposedly a battery saver, and brighter, but messes up on pixel usage
Search tags for this page

droid x2 ghosting