Got my Driod phone today.. ROM change and now im missing all of my apps ?

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by matt.hughes915, Mar 27, 2010.

  1. matt.hughes915
    Offline

    matt.hughes915 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I unrooted my phone, ( dmupdater ) then I purchased the set CPU to over clock droid, then I purchased the premium ROM manager from Koushik.

    did some clockworkorange update from the rom manager program, backed up and cleard the cache on the phone? and downloaded the cyanogen mod 5.0.5.3 - droid mod... installed it ( stumbled though sounds more like it )

    and now everything is erased off the home screen.. no market place, contacts, the apps I bought ( set cpu, rom manager, and evertthing else I spent all night downloading ) yes I do have the touch screen 3D wall paper that works then you tap on it.. ( nexus one )... but I am sure I did something wrong..
  2. RW-1
    Offline

    RW-1 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Nazareth, PA
    If you flashed the rom with a wipe, you erased those and have to either reinstall your application you used to backup, or just reinstall your Apps.

    As to default apps missing, you have to be sure to select them for install depending on the rom install method.
  3. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    OP, please don't double post. I responded to you 'other' post stating the same thing. Be patient and you'll get responses :)
  4. matt.hughes915
    Offline

    matt.hughes915 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have been playing with this phone for 8 hours straight, and I have no idea what to do right now.. IM so lost, and I really wanna just get it set up and over with.

    How do i get all the orgional apps back on the phone?
  5. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    Can you boot into recovery and restore?

    Mike
  6. matt.hughes915
    Offline

    matt.hughes915 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yes I was fianlly able to rebot into recovery and restore.. I got back to the 2.0.1 and everything was just the way I left it.. I went back into the ROM manager and tried to install the new ROM again 2.1 , and now Im hoping everything went with it...
  7. matt.hughes915
    Offline

    matt.hughes915 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    now its in the dreaded boot loop someone just told me about, it says droid then turns off and on, droid and then turns off and on
  8. pc747
    Online

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,501
    Likes Received:
    1,049
    Trophy Points:
    113
    First: To deal with apps..before flashing any Roms back them up with titanium or astro. If you do that you can restore them easily.

    Now to deal with your boot loop
  9. jstafford1
    Online

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,064
    Likes Received:
    130
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    The boot loop is caused by not doing a data wipe going from 2.0.1 to 2.1 and vice versa. Boot into recovery and wipe data and cache then reflash the ROM and you should be set.
  10. pc747
    Online

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,501
    Likes Received:
    1,049
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ima paste a copy of clockwork recovery for a visual tool


    ClockworkMod Recovery:
    [​IMG] [​IMG]
  11. matt.hughes915
    Offline

    matt.hughes915 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just did a battery pull, held the x key, and opened the restore file from clockwork orange, the phone went back to 2.0.1

    then i re did the 2.1 upgrade to the cyanogen mod, this time it asked me to enter all my google information everything is their..

    the only problem this looks werird is.... the 3D menu.. the words are not exacly under the icons, they are to the side and chopped off?
  12. pc747
    Online

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,501
    Likes Received:
    1,049
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Switch home screens. A good app to get is home switcher. I makes it quicker to switch between the home screen and the launcher.
Search tags for this page

changed rom apps missing