Got an issue, phone keeps rebooting at the droid logo boot video.

Discussion in 'Droid X Tech Support' started by evildesign, Aug 6, 2010.

  1. evildesign

    evildesign Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yesterday I rooted the phone, and it rebooted fine after that, I then moved a bunch of applications in /system/apps/ to file.apk to file.apk.old, but I did some files like VoiceCommand and HelpSomething and one other that I cant remember, plus your regular blockbuster and amazon files. I also installed SetCPU and had it set on boot with the powersave and another to change on boot. I decided to restart the phone and now it stuck in this. I am not sure, but I forgot to remount /system as ro when I rebooted, and wondering if that might be the issue.

    I am wondering how can I get into the phone over adb while it in this mode, so I can rename those files and see if it complaining about that partition not being ro.
     
  2. evildesign

    evildesign Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I can get it to load into the flash mode, but where do I get a rom to reflash it?
     
  3. evildesign

    evildesign Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    The more I keep thinking about this, I think it actually a hang in the system loading, and it not a restart, since it doesnt ever show the motorola screen again and the video keeps looping. I am waiting for the phone to charge to see if I can get into recovery mode.
     
  4. ChugIt

    ChugIt Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN.
    Ratings:
    +0
    Why did you go and rename the files if you didn't know what you were doing? I would unroot back to 2.0.1 and start over. Loading a custom ROM generally has options to remove apps, and they run the scripts correctly. Never mess with system files if you are not exactly sure what you are doing with 100% certainty.
     
  5. droidman101

    droidman101 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Only this guy has a droid X.
    Ok, the problem is with setcpu, NEVER set it on boot unless you are setting it at stock 1ghz ondemand. If you can boot into recovery wipe data and cache, that should fix it.
     
    #5 droidman101, Aug 6, 2010
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2010
  6. ChugIt

    ChugIt Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN.
    Ratings:
    +0
    God I hate when I think I'm in a Droid thread and I'm not! 2nd time this week, sorry....
     
  7. droidman101

    droidman101 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've done that some times, don't be angry at yourself, you're not alone :)
     
  8. evildesign

    evildesign Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    That what I actually did, and it worked, So I will not set setcpu to load on boot.
     
  9. droidman101

    droidman101 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    What happened was your phone booted up past the M because setcpu hadn't loaded yet, then when setcpu turned on it didn't give enough juice for the phone to totally boot up, hence the bootloop. When the phone turned off it closed setcpu, which starts the process again.
     
  10. evildesign

    evildesign Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah, well you learn best by trial and error, now I know don't do that.

    I just activated it and just sitting on communicating with server, if I reboot it just stays at the droid video, so I am going to leave it here to see how long this communicating with server takes, because I had to do another reset on it.
     
  11. evildesign

    evildesign Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I got it fully fix, and figured I should come back and explain what files I moved and probably shouldn't have on some of them.

    The only way I can actually get booted back into OS to get into adm was to do a factory reset, which allowed the OS to actually boot, but the user interface kept freezing in about 7 minutes, and would never make a connection to the server like it was trying to do, so I never got to the end of setup to get into settings to enable USB debugging, but I found when you hit the connecting to server part, you can hit the search button and go into settings that way. Once I got through all this, by the time i activated the phone, which sometimes if you hit the next button fast enough, it will just skip activation, because i kept skipping it and going straight to login with your google account.

    After finally getting a terminal and the UI crashing out on me, the system was still usable over adb. I still had su and Superuser.apk installed, but they wouldn't go. I kept attempting to re-exploit the device and try to hit the wifi or bluetooth on/off button in settings, but I never had enough time. I basically kept trying to exploit the machine hoping it would just budge, but it seem to never do it, even though rootshell got installed. I finally figured out that rootshell doesnt like to work when you goto it with a direct path, and seemed to work if you just type rootshell in the prompt.

    I finally got root access and fixed my applications, since I never deleted them. I just renamed them .apk.old, encase something like this happened. I rebooted the the device over adb, and then it just stayed stuck on the damn motorola logo and would never go passed it. I don't know why this happened, but I rebooted it many times by taking the battery out, and putting it back it. I left it sitting on that screen for 30minutes and it did nothing, I then tried to see if I can get back into recovery mode and do another factory restore, which it allowed me to do, and now it running nice and fast and boots just like normal.

    Here is a list of the files I renamed.
    DLNA.apk
    CarDock.apk
    FMRadio.apk
    VoiceCommands.apk
    FMRadioService.apk
    NewsWidget.apk
    Blockbuster.apk
    BlurUpdater.apk
    DlnaSystemService.apk
    Skype_mobile.live.apk
    amazonmp3_1.7.22_signed_zipaligned.apk

    Well, I hope this help someone encase they screwed up like I did.
     
    #11 evildesign, Aug 7, 2010
    Last edited: Aug 7, 2010