1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

got a few questions, plz respond asap

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions & Site Assistance' started by dillonorden, Mar 28, 2011.

  1. dillonorden
    Offline

    dillonorden New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Gonzales, LA
    I have a droid 2 global and was wondering y there are no roms for it? How different can the files be from a droid 1 to a D2 global? Also whats the easiest way to make a custom boot logo image? Srry for all the questions, but im a newb wit the D2G
  2. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    the differences between the droid 1 and droid 2 global are many in number. first and most importantly there is the fact that the global has a locked bootloader and then theres things like radios and all the hardware differneces. however there is a way to flash droid 2 roms on a droid 2 global. it is a zip file developed by the get r done rom team but their website is currently down.
  3. dillonorden
    Offline

    dillonorden New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Gonzales, LA
    Srry for not being specific earlier, but i ment the difference in programing. How big of a program change did motorola do for the D2. I figured they left the programing the same and added new hardware. I like my D1 better bc of the wide selection of Roms i had, but the D2 is faster, looks cleaner etc. I was wondering when bugless beast, miui, cyagonmod etc was goin to work on some D2 roms. I got the. Zip file needed so i could run D2 roms on my D2G, but the few roms tht are out there for the D2 i dont like :(. Is it possible to run a D1 rom on a D2/G?

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums App
  4. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,350
    Likes Received:
    270
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Not that I am aware of.

    I think that because of the lock down and the differences in hardware, you'd be hard pressed to get a D1 ROM ported to a D2/G.
  5. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Yeah there has as of yet only been a few rom devs from the d1 porting roms to the d2 and they had their fair share of flaws. Kind of sucks I know.

    Sent from my DROID2 using Tapatalk
  6. dillonorden
    Offline

    dillonorden New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Gonzales, LA
    Well I did some research and found out the D2G wont get the gingerbread update, and I've been waiting to get it, so now im highly upset and was thinks bout getting a druid x. Opinions?

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums App
  7. xCore
    Offline

    xCore New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I swapped from a D2 to a Dx a few weeks ago and couldn't be happier.
  8. dillonorden
    Offline

    dillonorden New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Gonzales, LA
    What are the pros and cons of the druid x

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums App