got a D2, some questions before it arrives ...

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2' started by zero7404, Dec 5, 2010.

  1. zero7404
    Offline

    zero7404 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i've got a D1 that i'm going to retire for a D2.

    questions:

    1. what is the most often used root method for this phone ?

    2. i use titanium backup to backup my phone, can i use these backups as restore on the D2 ? i only want to restore my contacts (i do not sync with Google's servers). i also want to use this method to restore bookmarks on the browser, etc.
  2. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    The best root methods imo are the ones in my sig I.e. multiple phones etc or the d2 hacking class. There's also z4root which is currently available over at xda.

    As for titanium backup i'm not too sure but you could prob just export your contacts to your sd card and import them to the new phone.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  3. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Your contacts are backed up in Gmail. You don't need Titanium for that, they will all show up once you sign into your new D2.
  4. zero7404
    Offline

    zero7404 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    as mentioned ... i don't sync with google. besides, if i did i'd lose formatting in some way
  5. zero7404
    Offline

    zero7404 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    wht id like to do really is restore everything that ti backup makes onto the D2 once i root it. just want to make sure that wont cause a problem on the device. they both run the same version (froyo).

    also, is it possible to disable motorola's ui tweaks and use the stock android ui on the D2 ?
  6. mewshi
    Offline

    mewshi New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    To an extent -- if you're willing to root and flash a custom ROM...
  7. dankarlinski
    Online

    dankarlinski Guest

    like mewshi said, you can delete some of the motoblur programs and use stock, but the easiest way is to use a custom rom. i use fission from which is really nice. there are a few other roms for the D2 that will also remove the motoblur


    as for the root, i used Z4root. it roots directly from the phone, so you dont need a compy. it seems to keep getting pulled from the market, so it may be hard to find.


    if you decide to go that route can cannot find it on the market, shoot me a PM and ill send you the APK
  8. zero7404
    Offline

    zero7404 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thanks for the input guys ...

    i got feedback that i can use titanium to restore my data to the new device.