Got 4th Droid today...still having issues...suggestions?

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by ned4spd8874, Mar 20, 2010.

  1. ned4spd8874

    ned4spd8874 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just got my Droid replaced today for the 4th time. And a few minutes ago, I just got a notification sound that kept going. Except that instead of making the actual sound, it was more staticy. The phone wouldn't respond and I had to pull the battery. Any ideas what it could be? I'm using the built-in notification sound. I'm getting so sick and tired of having constant problems and am ready to just turn it in and demand a full refund and just go with a "normal" cell phone.
     
  2. christim

    christim DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,100
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    New England
    Ratings:
    +2
    Frustrating, yes. But, it is a good phone and there are lots of them out there. Do they crap out quick for you or last a while? Bring it back and if your tolerance level is still there give another one a spin. 5th time is always a charm:)
     
  3. jstafford1

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,150
    Likes Received:
    218
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +223
    What apps are you running? Could be an app conflict.
     
  4. ned4spd8874

    ned4spd8874 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +0
    The problems arise almost immediately. I just got the last one like 2 weeks ago!

    I have the normal apps running. The extra apps I have are:
    AK Notepad
    ShopSavvy
    CamLED Flashlight
    Pandora
    Scoreboard
    Google Buzz
    URL Monitor
    Weatherbug
    Finance
    ATK
    Sprite Backup
    CNET Scan & Shop


    I know that seems like a lot. I wish there were a way to modify the apps that start up automatically!

    But even after ATK kills all but the essential apps, I have still had problems. Not with this one yet because I've only had it 10 hours or so, but with the previous ones.
     
  5. jkhonea

    jkhonea DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    3,015
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Snellville, GA
    Ratings:
    +20
    Is it possible to reset back to factory with no apps added and see if the noise is still there? And if not, add the apps one at a time to see if it might be one of them causing your troubles.
     
  6. jstafford1

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,150
    Likes Received:
    218
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +223
    Get rid of ATK, its not needed. It causes more problems than it solves. Other than that either you're just very unlucky or verizons out to get ya. Hope you don't have anymore issues though.
     
  7. Matth3w

    Matth3w Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    There is a program that adjusts what programs start automatically, it's called Autostarts
     
  8. ned4spd8874

    ned4spd8874 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +0
    Really? Every time I have gone to Verizon, they ask if I have ATK installed. And when I say yes, they say good. Giving me the impression that it is helpful. Guess not?
     
  9. ned4spd8874

    ned4spd8874 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +0
    But the phone needs to be rooted. Know of any without having the phone rooted? The frequency I bring these things back to Verizon, I don't think they will like it if I bring a rooted one back.
     
  10. jstafford1

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,150
    Likes Received:
    218
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +223
    I won't give my opinion of Verizon store reps. But Android has a built in task manager. You will not run out of RAM it will shut down what it doesn't need and allocate memory as needed. Had my Droid since launch and no ATK and it never lags. Try running with out it and see if you have less problems.
     
  11. Matth3w

    Matth3w Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    No you need to be rooted.
     
  12. ned4spd8874

    ned4spd8874 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +0
    You can see without root, but you need root to control it. "Root users can disable unwanted autostarts and speed up their phone boot"
     
  13. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    I see 3 possible problem apps. ATK, Savvy Shopper, and Weather Bug.
     
  14. Matth3w

    Matth3w Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't see what they have to do with the notification sound really? I have a task manager, barcode scanner and weather apps and they really don't affect my notifications whatsoever unless I get a weather alert.
     
  15. ned4spd8874

    ned4spd8874 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +0
    I removed them all for the halibut...we'll see.