Got 4th Droid today...still having issues...suggestions?

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by ned4spd8874, Mar 20, 2010.

  1. ned4spd8874
    Offline

    ned4spd8874 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    I just got my Droid replaced today for the 4th time. And a few minutes ago, I just got a notification sound that kept going. Except that instead of making the actual sound, it was more staticy. The phone wouldn't respond and I had to pull the battery. Any ideas what it could be? I'm using the built-in notification sound. I'm getting so sick and tired of having constant problems and am ready to just turn it in and demand a full refund and just go with a "normal" cell phone.
  2. christim
    Offline

    christim DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,112
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New England
    Frustrating, yes. But, it is a good phone and there are lots of them out there. Do they crap out quick for you or last a while? Bring it back and if your tolerance level is still there give another one a spin. 5th time is always a charm:)
  3. jstafford1
    Offline

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,064
    Likes Received:
    130
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    What apps are you running? Could be an app conflict.
  4. ned4spd8874
    Offline

    ned4spd8874 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    The problems arise almost immediately. I just got the last one like 2 weeks ago!

    I have the normal apps running. The extra apps I have are:
    AK Notepad
    ShopSavvy
    CamLED Flashlight
    Pandora
    Scoreboard
    Google Buzz
    URL Monitor
    Weatherbug
    Finance
    ATK
    Sprite Backup
    CNET Scan & Shop


    I know that seems like a lot. I wish there were a way to modify the apps that start up automatically!

    But even after ATK kills all but the essential apps, I have still had problems. Not with this one yet because I've only had it 10 hours or so, but with the previous ones.
  5. jkhonea
    Offline

    jkhonea DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    3,016
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Snellville, GA
    Is it possible to reset back to factory with no apps added and see if the noise is still there? And if not, add the apps one at a time to see if it might be one of them causing your troubles.
  6. jstafford1
    Offline

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,064
    Likes Received:
    130
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Get rid of ATK, its not needed. It causes more problems than it solves. Other than that either you're just very unlucky or verizons out to get ya. Hope you don't have anymore issues though.
  7. Matth3w
    Offline

    Matth3w New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Huachuca, AZ (Originally from Pittsburgh, PA)
    There is a program that adjusts what programs start automatically, it's called Autostarts
  8. ned4spd8874
    Offline

    ned4spd8874 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    Really? Every time I have gone to Verizon, they ask if I have ATK installed. And when I say yes, they say good. Giving me the impression that it is helpful. Guess not?
  9. ned4spd8874
    Offline

    ned4spd8874 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    But the phone needs to be rooted. Know of any without having the phone rooted? The frequency I bring these things back to Verizon, I don't think they will like it if I bring a rooted one back.
  10. jstafford1
    Offline

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,064
    Likes Received:
    130
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    I won't give my opinion of Verizon store reps. But Android has a built in task manager. You will not run out of RAM it will shut down what it doesn't need and allocate memory as needed. Had my Droid since launch and no ATK and it never lags. Try running with out it and see if you have less problems.
  11. Matth3w
    Offline

    Matth3w New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Huachuca, AZ (Originally from Pittsburgh, PA)
    No you need to be rooted.
  12. ned4spd8874
    Offline

    ned4spd8874 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    You can see without root, but you need root to control it. "Root users can disable unwanted autostarts and speed up their phone boot"
  13. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    I see 3 possible problem apps. ATK, Savvy Shopper, and Weather Bug.
  14. Matth3w
    Offline

    Matth3w New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Huachuca, AZ (Originally from Pittsburgh, PA)
    I don't see what they have to do with the notification sound really? I have a task manager, barcode scanner and weather apps and they really don't affect my notifications whatsoever unless I get a weather alert.
  15. ned4spd8874
    Offline

    ned4spd8874 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    I removed them all for the halibut...we'll see.
  16. jstafford1
    Offline

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,064
    Likes Received:
    130
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    I think he was just saying there's been known issues with those 3 apps in particular. Not for everyone, but deffinately for some.
  17. Matth3w
    Offline

    Matth3w New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Huachuca, AZ (Originally from Pittsburgh, PA)
    Oh I thought he was saying that those apps could directly affect this guy's problem
  18. BigRalphN
    Offline

    BigRalphN New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ya it sounds odd. We are a 4 Droid family and no issues. One rooted, the rest stock. I would get rid of atk for sure. Do the factory reset, add one task at a time update also. Is it 2.0.1? Believe it or not, we got one of the Droid last week and we still had to do the over air update.
  19. ned4spd8874
    Offline

    ned4spd8874 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    Yeah, it's 2.01. The guy said there is an update coming in the next couple weeks. He told me this after I asked about the issue with not being able to voice dial over the headset.

    I removed ATK, Weatherbug, savvyshop, etc., I'll see if that helps before I go to the one by one thing. That will be a pain in the butt.
  20. toastedoats
    Offline

    toastedoats New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I feel your pain, I am on my 4th replacement phone in 3 weeks and finally think I got a good one this time. Rooted and unRooted all of them.

    I have decided that the QC at wherever these are refurbished is deplorable.

    VZW will not refund your money, give you a new device or seem to care. Dont even bother trying. The only thing they can do is switch you to a different model device.