google voice

Discussion in 'Android Applications' started by Big Ry, Sep 21, 2010.

  1. Big Ry
    Offline

    Big Ry New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,300
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Blacksburg, VA
    i have a google voice number that i literally never use. i want GV visual voicemail for my regular number though. iirc, you cant have both on one gmail account. can i create another and move my GV number to it then use GV on my regular number and regular gmail account for VVM? or do i need to just delete my GV number? or am i just completely wrong and i can have both a GV number and a VZW number with GV VVM on the same gmail account?



    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  2. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    You can have Google voice be your regular voice mail if that's what your asking. I believe in the settings you can set it up that way instead of using Verizons VM. In the settings right next to your real number is a link to activate Google Voice mail on this phone.
  3. DF Smod
    Offline

    DF Smod New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,477
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have Google Voice Mail on my Verizon Number, when you install the Gvoice app it walks you through the set-up/sign-in process, you can also access it via computer
  4. Big Ry
    Offline

    Big Ry New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,300
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Blacksburg, VA
    i tried this but it didnt work



    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  5. DF Smod
    Offline

    DF Smod New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,477
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is it giving you a sign in error ?
  6. Big Ry
    Offline

    Big Ry New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,300
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Blacksburg, VA
    the initial setup let me record a message and akl, but then when someone would call me itd still go to my vzw voicemail. i had dialed the activation number too, which i just tried again...all it does is call my GV number. i would think it shouldnt be doing that since i want this separate from my GV number.



    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  7. DF Smod
    Offline

    DF Smod New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,477
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Have you tried the settings within the computer based website ?
  8. takeshi
    Offline

    takeshi New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,600
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I think you need to have your cell as one of the numbers associated with GV so it knows to send calls from that number directly to voicemail when you have conditional call forwarding enabled (what the "Activate Google Voice voicemail" link walks you through).

    The "Do not disturb" setting in GV may achieve the same result for your situation since it sends all calls directly to voicemail.

    You can. That's how I'm set up even though I don't give out my VZW number.

    That's what it should do. It's just not going directly to voicemail. GV voicemail can't handle calls unless you have conditional call forwarding set up to your GV number.
    Last edited: Sep 21, 2010
  9. shhlacker
    Offline

    shhlacker New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You might want to check out Visual Voicemail For Your Phone | YouMail. It has free visual voice mail and a droid app and some other pretty slick features. As fas GVoice goes, you can use your same google account with gmail and gvoice
  10. Big Ry
    Offline

    Big Ry New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,300
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Blacksburg, VA
    i been using phone fusion but the text inscription was only free for 30 days and wasnt very accurate anyway. i figured gv is probably on point like everything else google makes. plus i used youmail on my BlackBerry and it was garbage...perhaps its changed. is text inscription truly free? and is it accurate?



    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  11. Big Ry
    Offline

    Big Ry New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,300
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Blacksburg, VA
    what settings?



    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  12. Big Ry
    Offline

    Big Ry New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,300
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Blacksburg, VA
    but ive already done this, why it no worky? :(



    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  13. takeshi
    Offline

    takeshi New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,600
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Last edited: Sep 22, 2010
  14. Big Ry
    Offline

    Big Ry New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,300
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Blacksburg, VA
    i went to Settings ->Do Not Disturb. the path you specified doesnt exist. why would this make my vzw number use gv voicemail though? it doesnt make sense to me.



    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
Search tags for this page
do not disturb feature for droid maxx
,
do not disturb feature on droid razr
,

do not disturb on droid 3

,
droid htc dna do not disturb
,
droid razr do not disturb
,
droid razr m do not disturb
,
droid razr m, do not disturb
,
how to set do not disturb on droid
,
how to set do not disturb on droid razr m
,
is there a do not disturb feature on android incredible 2?
,
motorola droid 2 do not disturb
,

where is the do not disturb feature on the droid razr m

,
why droid razor m does not interrupt when call