Google Voice

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid X' started by droidx2010, Sep 1, 2010.

  1. droidx2010
    Offline

    droidx2010 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ok - loaded up google voice, now what? How can I send text message w/out getting charged?
  2. fish1552
    Offline

    fish1552 Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    652
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Savannah area of Coastal Georgia, USA
  3. dangerous
    Offline

    dangerous New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Scottsdale, AZ

    if you make calls you will be charged minutes as the Google Voice number is not a VZW number. If you have Friends and Family then you can add the Google Voice number as a 'friend" then all calls in and out would not be charged.
  4. Ansextra
    Offline

    Ansextra New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Problem is that Google Voice doesn't always use the same number all the time any more. So adding to F&F can be a problem.
  5. dangerous
    Offline

    dangerous New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Scottsdale, AZ
    I haven't really used it. have had it for almost a year i guess. Never check to see that they are changing numbers. Ya.. that would be a problem.


    My issue with the SMS was, when i did use it. it was free on TXT messaging for me (both in / out)., but my wife didn't have GV and she was getting dinged for an "out of network" sms every time.
  6. Ansextra
    Offline

    Ansextra New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  7. dangerous
    Offline

    dangerous New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Scottsdale, AZ
    Quote from that link you posted. a pain but still works.:

    The better way, which will still work JUST FYI, is to just add and dial your Google Voice number from a phone number associated with it. At the main menu, press 2, then dial the number you want to call. This way, you only ever have to add your own Google Voice number to your "A-List".
  8. Ansextra
    Offline

    Ansextra New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It's really an extra step. You need to call your google voice number, access your account, and then press 2. It's still a good way to use F&F though... ;)
  9. droidx2010
    Offline

    droidx2010 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks - but that wasn't very helpful. I'll keep looking.
  10. fish1552
    Offline

    fish1552 Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    652
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Savannah area of Coastal Georgia, USA
    It does leave a bit to be desired, but that was the best one I found. I couldn't find anything at the GV site, which is weird. People claim to be using it, but the only other thing I could find was other people asking and not getting a reply.
    If you find something, let me know because I was thinking of trying it or setting it up for the kid.
Search tags for this page

google voice account status could not be loaded

,
google voice could not be sent
,
google voice error your account status could not be loaded
,
voice google account status could not be loaded
,

voicemail settings could not be loaded

,

your account status could not be loaded