Google Voice trascribing

Discussion in 'Android Applications' started by ctn830, Mar 25, 2010.

  1. ctn830
    Offline

    ctn830 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    Google Voice transcribing

    Does anyone know if Google Voice HAS to transcribe all voicemails? Meaning do I have the option to still "listen' to them? And since I just set this up my phone says "reading voicemail settings" but does not complete (the circle keeps turning). What's with this?
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2010
  2. RW-1
    Offline

    RW-1 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Nazareth, PA
    I'm not sure, but have you logged into GV via computer to look at possible account settings? Might be something there as an option.
  3. ctn830
    Offline

    ctn830 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    i see the setting where I can uncheck it. will try. thanks
  4. pyro6128
    Offline

    pyro6128 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,525
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    if you have a droid why not just let it transcribe it. Its nice to be able to get the jist of what the message is without having to listen. But then when you want to listen, just click the play button and itll play your voicemail. I would suggest turning off the email notification and sms notification. The app is going to notify you anyway, so you might as well just use that. So yes you can have it transcribed and listen to it. Thats how I have it set up and its great.
  5. ctn830
    Offline

    ctn830 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    Oh. thanks. But how will the app notify me like VZ had the little icon up top? Right now I have the Voice app on my main screen of the DROID as a shortcut. Will it have a different display or something?
  6. xfireguru
    Offline

    xfireguru New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    You should get a little icon in the notification bar that looks like a phone indicating you've got a new VM.
  7. pyro6128
    Offline

    pyro6128 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,525
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    it will give you a little icon in the notification bar just like verizon does. It'll be a little black bubble with a white phone in it. One you get a vm then just open the app, or click on the icon in the notification bar, and itll take you to a list of your vms, with the transcription next to it, and under it will be a little play button. You can either play it through the earpiece, or press another button towards the right that plays it through the speaker. Its awesome
  8. ctn830
    Offline

    ctn830 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    thank you both!!!!
  9. Scribble
    Offline

    Scribble New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The transcription is a little crazy... The other day my dad called me and apparently google thought he wanted to talk to me about laser canoes. I was all excited because... dude... laser canoes!

    But then I found out he just wanted me to pick him up some razer blades.
  10. billyidle
    Offline

    billyidle New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    419
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Flint, MI
    Most of my life people have confused my real name Mark, with Mike. Just when it seems the world has learned my true name, Google Voice blatantly disrespects me everytime by transcribing Mike for Mark!
  11. ddodson3
    Offline

    ddodson3 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    A lot of times when I get a new message in the Google voice app it says, "transcript not available" until I refresh it. Its kind of a pain. Does this happen to anyone else? if so, any ideas on how to fix it?
  12. xfireguru
    Offline

    xfireguru New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    It just has to do with the delay between getting the notification of a new voicemail and the time it takes to transcribe.

    You can be notified almost immediately when you have a new voicemail message on the server. However, it takes a minute to actually transcribe the message. That's why a subsequent refresh will display the message information.