Google Voice - The Non-Invite thread

Discussion in 'Android Applications Discussions' started by Big D, Nov 18, 2009.

  1. Big D

    Big D Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    541
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey guys. There are a few GV threads going but they all seem to turn into a request for/offer of invites.

    I thought I'd start a thread that just covered questions. I'll start:

    1. Can you customize the interface?

    2. When I playback messages, I can barely hear them. Any way to control volume? It doesn't seem to respond to the volume rocker.

    3. Can you use a canned gretting that you just record your name into a la VZ's voicemail?

    Thanks all.
     
  2. Leastbay

    Leastbay Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    How can I get mine to work? Ive had it about a week and when someone calls and it gets to voicemail it says call cannot be completed.
     
  3. Big D

    Big D Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    541
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anyone figured out the volume thing? Are you even getting the problem?
     
  4. dberthia

    dberthia Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Ratings:
    +0
    Any time I try to call my GV number from a local land line I get a "You have to dial a 1 first" message. Dialing the 1 doesn't work either. Calls from mobile phone go through without any problems. Very frustrating.
     
  5. dandanaka

    dandanaka New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    The volume for playback has been an issue for everyone. I hope they find a quick fix fro this bug
     
  6. Big D

    Big D Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    541
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anyone else having this problem?

    I don't get a notification in the status bar (or in GV) until I open the app on the phone.

    Is this a setting issue?
     
  7. Luxferro

    Luxferro Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mine works just fine.

    Did you pick a google # based in your area code? if not you may need to dial the whole 10 digit # (xxx) xxx-xxxx
     
  8. Luxferro

    Luxferro Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I thought they fixed this in a google voice app update? I think I read that in some change logs or something.

    Mines works fine.
     
  9. Luxferro

    Luxferro Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    A tip for you guys, in case you didn't know.

    How to make your phones not ring a million times before going to voicemail:

    Google Voice + Voicemail number of rings to message - Google Voice Help

    Just disable it like suggested in the link above. Don't worry, if someone calls your real cell #, it still rings.. but it only rings like 5-6 times before going to voicemail - same as the google voice #. I just did some testing now, and it all seems to be working great for me.

    Last week my boss called me, and didn't leave a voice message. Now I know why. He has my real cell # and I called it from my work phone, and it tooks like 5-6 verizon rings, then it forwards the call to google voice, which then rings another 5-6+ rings before finally going to voicemail.

    With the changes in the link above, my phone rings no more then 5-6 rings before going to voice mail, no matter if someone called my GV # or real cell # :)
     
  10. HarleyDad09

    HarleyDad09 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    How about this one..

    I was in such a rush to set up my Google Voice account I clicked "Use my mobile number" instead of having google give me a number. Does anyone know if there is a way to go back and get a google number? Thanks
     
  11. Big D

    Big D Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    541
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Man. The transcription is a total joke. Worthless.

    Anyone else not getting notifications until you open the app?
     
  12. monkeydog

    monkeydog Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Unfortunately there is no way to do this at the moment. Unless you get a 2nd voice account. Here is a nearly 500 post thread from the google help forums on this issue

    I actually chose to use my own number at first too. To fix it you need to get a 2nd voice account (choose a google number this time) on a seperate google account and then fill out this form to have the 2nd voice account transferred to your main account. The transfer can take anywhere from a couple days to 2 weeks, it took them 9 days to transfer mine.

    I would give you another invite if I had one so you could sort it out. If you don't have access to another invite and really want to get this fixed instead of waiting for google to fix it you can find voice invites for $.99 on ebay fairly easily. It's what I did to get the 2nd voice account.
     
Search tags for this page

what area codes are available for google voice