Google Voice / Standard Voicemail Issue

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by yamaredman, Dec 11, 2010.

  1. yamaredman

    yamaredman Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    MD, USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Of the millions of voicemail questions out there, I couldn't find an answer to this one, so here goes...

    I have Google Voice on my Original Droid just for the voicemail feature.

    I forwarded a voicemail message from another phone to my Droid and the message went to my standard voicemail... not Google Voice.

    The problem is, when I dial *86 to check my standard voicemail, it says that I don't have any new messages and I can't review any saved messages.

    I still have the icon in my notification bar saying I have a new voicemail and I can't get it to go away. Is there even a setting to not show the voicemail icon in the notification bar? This would solve my problem as I don't mind having an old voicemail there... I just want to get rid of the icon.

    Any help is appreciated.
     
  2. takeshi

    takeshi Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,581
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    Your question is actually the same as the typical question of "How do I access [insert carrier here] voicemail instead of GV voicemail?".

    You're actually dialing GV VM. If you compare, the greetings and prompts are entirely different with the 2 systems. If I dial *86 on my Droid (with GV VM set up for my VZW number) I get GV VM.

    To access VZW VM you'd need to disable conditional call forwarding and then dial *86. Once you're done with VZW VM you'd need to re-instate conditional call forwarding -- which is what you did when you followed the instructions on the "Activate GV VM for this phone" link -- once you're done with VZW VM. Basically, it's a matter of dialing *71, your GV number and hitting send.
     
    #2 takeshi, Dec 11, 2010
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2010
  3. yamaredman

    yamaredman Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    MD, USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's what I was looking for. Thanks!

    Is it possible to forward a message to my GV VM instead of my VZW VM?
     
  4. takeshi

    takeshi Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,581
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    From what VM system? AFAIK there's no good way to transfer VM's from one system to another. There's really no standard for intercommunication.