1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Google Voice setup problems

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by Beardface, Jun 9, 2010.

  1. Beardface
    Offline

    Beardface New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    I signed up for a GV account long ago and just got the invite today. So I went and set up everything online and I'm in the account, but when I go to set it up on the Droid, I can't get past the PIN screen.

    I'm using the same PIN numbers that I set up online. I even reset them and immediately entered that on the phone once it was saved but am getting a
    "We have a problem
    Your phone number could not be verified. Please try again"

    I have been doing this with both 3G and Wifi, sitting within 5 feet of the Wifi receiver, so its not that I don't have a connection. What is wrong?!
  2. Fail Tactics
    Offline

    Fail Tactics New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Federal Way, Washington
    I never had to deal with a PIN.
  3. Beardface
    Offline

    Beardface New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    Its the 3rd screen I see...

    Choose an Account
    Set up Google Voice
    Set up a voicemail PIN

    thing is, I already set it up online!
  4. Fail Tactics
    Offline

    Fail Tactics New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Federal Way, Washington
    I've never once had to enter one to get my voicemail. Weird.
  5. Beardface
    Offline

    Beardface New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    Its not even to get it... its the initial setup

    I've never even gotten into the program!
  6. Beardface
    Offline

    Beardface New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    Nevermind, I got it set up...

    Finally... had to jump through hoops, but it worked
  7. takeshi
    Offline

    takeshi New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,600
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Would help to post details for anyone else in the future who might run into the same issue. That is, assuming that anyone ever bothers to search.
  8. kodiak799
    Offline

    kodiak799 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4,746
    Likes Received:
    204
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Yeah, don't think I ever set-up a pin. Just have my gmail as my sign-in
  9. sst45jeff
    Offline

    sst45jeff New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had the same issue a few days ago when setting google voice up and I found a thread that said to :
    Under the account screen create a new account the same as the one you signed up with and it will work.

    Must be a bug in the setup. worked for me.
  10. Beardface
    Offline

    Beardface New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    Sure, of course

    When I went to set up the phone, I did everything online and activated the account on there to get it started. When I went into the application to sync it up, one of the first pages I went to said 'Choose an Account' and it listed the 2 gmail accounts I have. I only got access to one of them for gvoice, so I chose that one. It started going through the process again as if I was trying to set up the account once again.

    No, that is now what needed to happen. I needed to press the 'Choose Another Account' button below those and sign in using the email and pass I had already registered online. What made it confusing was that the user i.d. i had to input was one of the ones that was listed on the previous screen.

    Anyway, its up and running now. Just a bit of a confusing process, thats all.
  11. sassykolee
    Offline

    sassykolee New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Need help

    I follow your instruction but it still wants a pin and I can't seem to get past that screen. It won't except my pin number. Any suggestions?
    Diane
Search tags for this page
google v oice setup problem
,
google voice android we have a problem
,
google voice error verifying phone number
,
google voice pin problem
,
google voice setup
,
google voice setup issues
,
google voice we have a error
,

google voice we have a problem

,
google voice you phone number could not be verified
,
how to setup a voicemail pin on voice google
,
setting up voice pin
,
we have a problem. google voice. your phone cant be verified
,
your phone number could not be verified. please try again