1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Google Voice not working

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by ksarauer, Jan 28, 2010.

  1. ksarauer
    Offline

    ksarauer New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have my droid setup to use google voice for voicemail. When someone calls and I don't answer, it gives a busy signal instead of going to my voicemail.

    In my call settings, my voicemail is Google Voice.

    Anyone know if there is a way to reset google voice?
  2. ksarauer
    Offline

    ksarauer New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I switched my voicemail carrier from google voice to my carrier, and still getting a busy signal.

    When trying to switch it back to google voice, a Call Settings screen comes up and says reading settings.... (It's been on this screen for a couple minutes now)


    Any ideas?
  3. MNTNBKR
    Offline

    MNTNBKR Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    575
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Fenton, MI
    Did you do the *72 per the Google Voice voice mail setup instructions?
  4. ksarauer
    Offline

    ksarauer New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yep, (assuming, that's the number they say to call in the setup process)
  5. ksarauer
    Offline

    ksarauer New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It gives a couple beeps and disconnects the line
  6. ksarauer
    Offline

    ksarauer New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The number on the google voice setup screen is *71 then my google voice number, not *72
  7. dverplank
    Offline

    dverplank New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have had this problem in the past - Easy Fix Got to settings (online) and deactivate voicemail then reactivate - Don't know why but worked for me (twice).
  8. ksarauer
    Offline

    ksarauer New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That worked. Thanks!
  9. recycler
    Offline

    recycler New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This was the case with my phone too. Thanks for the advice, I had been trying different tactics for 3+ hours (yes, I have no life).
  10. Laramie
    Offline

    Laramie New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Montana
    Soon as I do *71 and my gVoice #, it just beeps then disconnects, I can't complete the setup process.

    Help?
  11. ksarauer
    Offline

    ksarauer New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This is all that happens when dialing *71 and your number.

    Have you checked to see if unanswered calls go to G-voice? If so, your setup is complete. All is good.

    If an unanswered call does not go to G-voice, from your phone dial *73 SEND, you may hear a couple beeps, then hangup. Then repeat the setup process again.
  12. Laramie
    Offline

    Laramie New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Montana
    That was it, I didn't realize that the disconnect meant it worked. Seems good so far.

    I have gVoice set for international calls, so my phone "incoming" and "outgoing" are done thorugh my VZW, but actual voicemails with show up on gVoice.
  13. dverplank
    Offline

    dverplank New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That is the setup!
Search tags for this page
*72 google voice
,
google now voice not working
,

google voice busy signal

,

google voice not working

,
google voice number not working
,
google voice search not working beeps then beeps again
,
google voice stopped working on my phone
,
google voice voicemail gives busy signal
,
my droid gives a busy signal instead of going to voicemail
,
my google voice is not working
,
my google voice number is not working
,
switched cell phone to google voice and now it is just a bus
,
verizon google voice busy signal
,
why is my google voice not working
,
why is my google voice number not working