Google Voice Help

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by GW_JCRUZ, May 9, 2010.

  1. GW_JCRUZ
    Offline

    GW_JCRUZ New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just got the google voice app. and what i need help on is that my GF, my mom, and bro have att. when they call me it doesnt transcript vm nor it leaves an actual voice message. no sound. what do I do? i have a moto droid.
     
  2. hookerdj
    Offline

    hookerdj Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,814
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    pittsburgh
    Ratings:
    +0
    sounds like you didnt set up vooicemail yet or did you set up the actual google voice? theres a app in the market


     
  3. GW_JCRUZ
    Offline

    GW_JCRUZ New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    i actually set up both Gv number and Voicemail. but what is weird is that my coworkers all have VZW and it works for them. i even called with our stores number and it worked. so im kinda like wtf.
     
  4. LtKen
    Offline

    LtKen Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,628
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +1
    Stupid question time:

    You actually have a Google Voice account right? Not just downloading the app...
     
  5. hookerdj
    Offline

    hookerdj Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,814
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    pittsburgh
    Ratings:
    +0
    did you just download the app and try and run that or did you get a actual invite to the google voice you have to have a invite to run it also you have to get the app in the market to set everything up




     
  6. GW_JCRUZ
    Offline

    GW_JCRUZ New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    yes i have a google number and voicemail and i downloaded the app.
     
  7. GW_JCRUZ
    Offline

    GW_JCRUZ New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    i got an actual invite. then i ran the app.
     
  8. LtKen
    Offline

    LtKen Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,628
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +1
    And you set it up properly, dialing the necessary programming numbers?
     
  9. hookerdj
    Offline

    hookerdj Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,814
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    pittsburgh
    Ratings:
    +0
    did you run the app it goes through the setup when you run the app like you have to set up your phone it tells it to call like i think *717then your number i believe or something like that? when you run google voice program on your fone whats it do?
     
  10. GW_JCRUZ
    Offline

    GW_JCRUZ New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    yes i did i even uninstalled and deactivated a couple times now and same thing wont leave messages from att subscribers.
     
  11. hookerdj
    Offline

    hookerdj Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,814
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    pittsburgh
    Ratings:
    +0
    when you run the app google voice what does it do or say????????




     
  12. GW_JCRUZ
    Offline

    GW_JCRUZ New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    WTF. so I got her phone and called the google number again and it worked but when i called my original number it doesnt leave a message at all. it just shows the length of message with no sound. is that normal.
     
  13. hookerdj
    Offline

    hookerdj Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,814
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    pittsburgh
    Ratings:
    +0
    wait i dunno i never tried my original number



     
  14. LtKen
    Offline

    LtKen Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,628
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +1
    So you're claiming it only happens with AT&T customers? Picking up a land line and leaving a message has the proper behavior?
     
  15. GW_JCRUZ
    Offline

    GW_JCRUZ New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    ya its so weird i dialed from two different land lines to my original number and had friends with VZW call my original number it not only left a text view but also a voice message as well. im kinda getting frustrated lol.