Google Voice Friends and Family Question

Discussion in 'Android Applications' started by GadgetRick, Feb 8, 2010.

  1. GadgetRick
    Offline

    GadgetRick Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ok, been using GV for quite some time now (since before I had my Droid). Previous phone didn't have a GV app so I always had to dial the old-fashioned way. With my Droid, I love it because of the GV app.

    Anywho, fast forward to today when I receive a text from Verizon telling me I'm about to go over my minutes. WTF? I use GV for almost ALL of my calling and I have a 1400 minute plan so I can have Friends and Family and I have my GV number set up as one of my F&F numbers.

    So I log onto VW.com and I see, apparently, the GV app doesn't use the GV number to dial (at least) out. WTF? Kinda defeats the purpose of using GV doesn't it?

    Am I missing something here? I should be able to list my GV number as one of my F&F numbers then use GV for all of my outgoing (and incoming) calls to keep from burning talk time right? When I dial out I select, "Dial with GV," when it asks me (I have it set to ask me). What's happening here?

    Thanks.
  2. noisufnoc
    Offline

    noisufnoc New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    when you use the GV app it generates an access number to dial out. to make use of your friends and family trick you'll have to dial your GV number and initiate calls that way.
  3. gentlefury
    Offline

    gentlefury New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Actually it tells you the access number when it dials and it has always been the same number for me.
  4. noisufnoc
    Offline

    noisufnoc New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    then i would take note of your access number and add that to your friends and family.
  5. GadgetRick
    Offline

    GadgetRick Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Oh man you have to be joking.

    After you said this, I'm checking my VW bill online and, sure enough, it's going out through a number--does seem to be the same all of the time--instead of my GV number.

    Wish I'd known this before but thanks for letting me know!
  6. RichP
    Offline

    RichP New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Or you can use this app GVMYNumber: Downloads - gvmynumber - Project Hosting on Google Code




  7. takeshi
    Offline

    takeshi New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,600
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No. Google has never stated that this was the purpose of GV. There are plenty of reasons to use GV and "the purpose" depends on who you talk to. Personally, saving minutes isn't why I use GV. YMMV, of course.

    It is mentioned in many, many GV threads here (and elsewhere for that matter). But to be fair, people would probably be less likely to miss it if there weren't so many total GV threads. If in doubt, test and check your usage.

    There's a lengthy read here on various approaches for free calling with GV:
    http://docs.google.com/Doc?docid=0Ae8glDUXDsh9ZGR2eG43cjRfMzNkOTM4ZjNjeA&hl=en
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2010
  8. czerdrill
    Offline

    czerdrill New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,828
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for the gvmynumber link. Makes it so much more convenient. Now the only annoyance is telling it to use Google Voice to dial before each call but I can live with that.