Google Voice Doesn't Work At All

Discussion in 'Android Applications' started by Patrick Boyle, Feb 16, 2010.

  1. Patrick Boyle
    Offline

    Patrick Boyle New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL
    Like the title says. I got my new Droid tonight from UPS. Set up went very smooth, very impressed with Android coming from BlackBerry and iPhone.

    Then I tried to set up Google Voice...I've been using it for the better part of a year now on my other phones, and it was one of the main reasons for buying this phone. During the GV setup, the app attempted to validate the phone with my GV account with an SMS text. The process failed several time.

    Next, I decided to go ahead and set the phone up manually via the website. That worked, and I ran the GV setup again. This time it recognized that my droid number was on the account, and skipped past the previous problem area. Then came calling and voicemail setup. I opted to route all outgoing calls through GV. Done. I then attempted to set up voicemail by dialing the *71 number. This failed. ("call cannot be completed as dialed").

    SO to get voicemail working, I again went to the website and did it manually, which seemed to work, except when I dial my voicemail from the phone I get "the google voice subscriber you have dialed is not available."

    Oh, and when I make outbound calls it doesn't even attempt to use GV. It uses the droid's number.

    I've tried a lot of tinkering, and uninstalling/reinstalling of GV. No dice. Any help?
  2. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio

    My advice? Try again later. It may be just a problem Google Voice is having and has nothing to do with the Droid.
  3. Patrick Boyle
    Offline

    Patrick Boyle New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL
    Thank you for the quick reply. I think what I'll do then is uninstall GV and remove my droid's number from the account. Then I'll reinstall and keep trying to activate the phone through the app until it works. That should be a good indicator of whether the system is working or not.
  4. takeshi
    Offline

    takeshi New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,600
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don't think I activated mine through the app.

    ...and you had the Use Google Voice option enabled in the GV app settings?
  5. LtKen
    Offline

    LtKen New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,637
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Activating through the app has never worked for me -- ignore the app and just set it up the way you would if you were never interested in checking your voicemail from your phone. Then install the app.
  6. R1Lover
    Offline

    R1Lover New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,702
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern Ca
    you should be dialing *71XXX-XXX-XXXX where X is your google voice number
  7. Patrick Boyle
    Offline

    Patrick Boyle New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL
    Yes, it was enabled.

    Like I said, I tried setting the phone up first through the web site. Even if I skip the voicemail set up and ignore that whole part, the phone still does not use google voice when dialing out.
  8. becominglumberg
    Offline

    becominglumberg New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    dumb question

    here is a question i must ask... have you been invited to google voice yet?
  9. Zargon
    Offline

    Zargon New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    :)

    ........
  10. becominglumberg
    Offline

    becominglumberg New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ah, right. well, here is what i noticed, when i set it up on my droid... when i used the number provided in the gvoice app on the phone, it didnt work (and froze my phone once). when i set up my phone from the gvoice site, it gave me a different number to enter, which worked. i don't know why, but i can't complain.
  11. Scribble
    Offline

    Scribble New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Does turning up the inbox refresh rate eat up battery?

    I have mine set to 15 minutes, but it seems like kind of a long time to wait to see if you get a VM...
  12. Patrick Boyle
    Offline

    Patrick Boyle New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL
    You're right. It was mentioned before that *71+ my GV number will work, and that is what the website has you do. Now if I could get it to dial out correctly...
  13. Patrick Boyle
    Offline

    Patrick Boyle New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL
    Update: I did a factory reset on the phone and it still doesn't work. Is there a way to install some version of Android other than 2.0.1, or at least re-install a copy from the internet?
  14. Patrick Boyle
    Offline

    Patrick Boyle New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL
    2nd update: I downloaded a copy of Android 2.0.1 from google and installed using the sdcard upgrade method. This didn't work either.

    I just don't get it. It couldn't possibly be a hardware issue. This is very frustrating because I can't get support from Verizon, Motorola, or Google on this issue.

    At least I've still got 29 days to return the phone...maybe before then 2.1 will come along and solve all my problems.
  15. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Google is the only one responsible for giving you support because it's their product. And Google has no customer support.

    Even if you could go back to 2.0.0 it wouldn't make a difference. Your just not having any luck. Sorry to hear that. Google Voice works for me.
  16. DroidFan
    Offline

    DroidFan New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I think you mean *72 for call forwarding to the GV number??
  17. Patrick Boyle
    Offline

    Patrick Boyle New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL
    I figured out that initiating a call from my contancts works fine. Previously I had just been using the manual entry keypad. Annoying but at least most of my dialing will be through GV.
  18. Patrick Boyle
    Offline

    Patrick Boyle New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL
    Well I think I got to the bottom of it: 10 digit dialing routes out through GV, 7 digit does not. So if I append an area code to my numbers on manual entry, it will work properly. Seems like an easy fix for Google.

    I've got a help forum thread open over at Google: Google Voice App does not work on Verizon Droid - Google Mobile Help

    Please chime in there if you're having the same issue.
Search tags for this page
google subscriber you have called is not available
,
google voice does not work
,
google voice does not work on android
,

google voice doesn't work

,

google voice doesn't work android

,

google voice doesnt work

,
my google voice doesn't work
,
the google subscriber you have called
,
the google subscriber you have called is not available
,
the google subscriber you have called is unavailable
,

the google voice subscriber you have called is not available

,
why doesn't google voice work on android x2