Google Now... why must I scream "GOOGLE!!" for it to respond?

Discussion in 'RAZR HD and RAZR HD MAXX Support' started by jimmythegent, Mar 12, 2013.

  1. jimmythegent
    Offline

    jimmythegent Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2013
    Messages:
    506
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    This is bugged me since day one, I bragged to my wife who has an iPhone5 that Now is better than Siri (which IMHO it is) BUT I look like a jag off sometimes by having to yell GOOGLE! to get it to start the speech recognition. Now its no biggie, but on the road, it kind of is. Is there a way to just hold the home button down, and Now will appear and just start voice recognition?

    I know I can just simply hit the mic button once Now opens... but takes away the whole point.

    Bueller? Bueller? Bueller?
  2. DoubleTapp89
    Offline

    DoubleTapp89 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    USA - Kentucky
    I've softly spoke "Google" and it activated Now. I mean, there been times where I had to yell Google for it to work. But for the most part. It works pretty well.
  3. Knightrider03m
    Offline

    Knightrider03m New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2012
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I can yell google all day long and nothing happens on my phone. And yes I have it set to open up when I say "google"
  4. FoxKat
    Offline

    FoxKat DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8,610
    Likes Received:
    822
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    There is a version of the Google Now that was ported from another phone to work with the Christmas leak. It would go right to voice recognition after a long press on the search button. I'm going to install it on mine. I'll see if I can't find it.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
  5. jimmythegent
    Offline

    jimmythegent Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2013
    Messages:
    506
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I just realized, you have to freaking wait till its done pulling up the cards and loading the background crap. If Google wants to compete with Siri, this must be ditched, or an option to stop pulling up previous cards, Siri is instant, though Google Now may search better, its no help sitting there and waiting, especially driving.

    They have to update it or something, when I say, "Take me home" it searches the internet for it like its a song... they have to tailor it better IMO.
  6. cybertec69
    Offline

    cybertec69 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,758
    Likes Received:
    71
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Staten Island, NY
    WOW, so you have to wait one second, because that is how long it takes for the cards to be pulled out, no issues here with Google Now, works like a charm.
  7. jimmythegent
    Offline

    jimmythegent Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2013
    Messages:
    506
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    If works like a charm was true, then I would not have a problem. I disabled the useless cards, works better, still have to wait a little bit. Please remember, its not so much the waiting on mine, just as posted above, there are times when you say "Google" and it sits there doing jack.

    I gotta a question for you, since you seem to use it a lot. When I schedule an appt. on my calendar, the color code on the calendar is different than when I manually schedule an event. And when I Google the event and go to it, it has the 3 options if I am attending busy and free, do you know why?

    THNX!
Search tags for this page

activate google now just saying google

,

google now droid 4 issues

,

google now help

,

motorola razr how to open google now