1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Google News Widget Problems?

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by Eddog4DROID, Aug 30, 2010.

  1. Eddog4DROID
    Offline

    Eddog4DROID New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Spokane, WA
    I have no proof this is a Froyo problem, but it SEEMS ever since 2.2 my Google News Widget says "news unavailable" and it is stalled there after working fine for several hours. The I have to refresh and everything is then fine.

    Am I the only one? this is the best news widget IMO. I'd to lose it.
  2. ljholland
    Offline

    ljholland New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I dont think it's 2.2...I'm on 2.1 and stopped getting updates over a day ago.
  3. harrellj
    Offline

    harrellj New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,063
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm using it currently with no problems, though I'm also using the transparent version with no weather display.
  4. ljholland
    Offline

    ljholland New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ah - I just uninstalled and re-installed and it's fine. That's never happened.

    Harrellj - which weather app are you using that is transparent? The Incredible doesn't come from one but I installed the genie one (standard news and weather) from my old Droid.
  5. machnhed
    Offline

    machnhed New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Washington DC (Centreville, VA)
    Been having this problem intermittently as well. Will try the uninstall/reinstall.
  6. Cyberpolice
    Offline

    Cyberpolice New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thank you for the heads up. I have not seem this issue yet.

    Sent from my Cyberpolice headquarters
  7. harrellj
    Offline

    harrellj New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,063
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Its the Genie widget itself. XDA had a metamorph with various transparent widgets. When I add the news and weather widget, I went with the news only option. I am using Beautiful Widgets too.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  8. ljholland
    Offline

    ljholland New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ahhh! Makes sense. Thanks
  9. Eddog4DROID
    Offline

    Eddog4DROID New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Spokane, WA
    How are you guys uninstalling/reinstalling -- this comes with the phone?
  10. ljholland
    Offline

    ljholland New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    To uninstall, you go into Settings --> Applications. Locate "News and Weather Widget"...then uninstall it.

    To reinstall, you need download it:
    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/droid-themes/42609-trasnparent-genie-widget.html
    (look in this thread for the file)

    Once downloaded, you can install the APK file from your SD card by clicking on it in a file manager (e.g., Astro, Root Explorer, etc) or from the download list directly.
  11. Eddog4DROID
    Offline

    Eddog4DROID New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Spokane, WA
    Wait is the Genie widget the same as the Google News and Weather Widget that came preloaded with 2.1?

    I just checked the News and Weather widget in the manage apps section and I can't uninstall.
  12. ljholland
    Offline

    ljholland New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hmmmm.... It's not on the Incredible 2.1 load. That's why I had to load it afterward. Not sure how you'll pull it then.
Search tags for this page

google genie widget news & weather app

,

google news and weather genie widget

,

google's news & weather genie widget app

,

samsung galaxy google news load error