Google Maps

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by lilcoool, Jan 12, 2010.

  1. lilcoool

    lilcoool New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    My phone is not able to detect My current Location and if I specify the particular address for both starting point and destination it is not navigating and stays on the screen searching for GPS..until yesterday it was working very fine.

    Any help is appreciated.

    Thanks
    Shiva
     
  2. mjs31

    mjs31 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    870
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    NE Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    Your GPS is turned on right?
     
  3. droidfannd

    droidfannd Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Fargo, ND
    Ratings:
    +0
    I assume you've rebooted your phone.

    I've had this happen sporadically...but not often enough for me to really pinpoint many other troubleshooting options.
     
  4. darreno1

    darreno1 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0

    I'm experiencing the same issue and I'm in S.Florida. This is the first time I've experienced an outage this long. Up to yesterday it was fine as well.
     
  5. trickhog

    trickhog New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    GPS is also down and not working today for me in Southern California.
     
  6. SGTiger

    SGTiger Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    None of you guys are inside a building while checking for the GPS, right?
     
  7. DylC32A

    DylC32A Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    NJ
    Ratings:
    +0
    Same problem for me today. It usually works fine.
     
  8. darreno1

    darreno1 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0

    No, it didn't matter today at all and I was out for most of the day. It usually connects in seconds or takes a minute or two for the most.

    I believe they're having some network related issues that's causing a disruption in the assisted location fix for the Sats. Hopefully by tomorrow it will be operational again. Glad I'm not the only one.

    I wish these phones were strictly Sat-based and not dependent on an assist. I know that's going to be the norm soon.
     
  9. FireDroid

    FireDroid Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    not to sound rude but this IS a beta test app right now, I go through several betas related to video games and there are always days when they take the system down to tweak or enhance. It sucks being a guinnea pig sometimes, but it is free and works pretty damn good for free and has some outragous features, I love the one where in sat layer you can see the area in a pic of where your supposed to turn, or a pic of your destination!
     
  10. darreno1

    darreno1 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    My GPS is working now.
     
  11. MrTommy

    MrTommy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Carson City, NV
    Ratings:
    +8
    GPS is working in Nevada

    For what it's worth, my GPS is working here in Carson City, NV. I just turned it on.
     
  12. Guchi

    Guchi Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,074
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    you can turn off network location