Google Maps Updated!

Discussion in 'Android Applications Discussions' started by Mojo, Dec 7, 2009.

  1. Mojo

    Mojo Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,357
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    S.W Missouri
    Ratings:
    +0
    New Features Include:
    * GPS Navigation (US only)
    *Labs (compass arrow, scale bar, terrain layer, more)

    Google Maps also includes
    Business Listings
    Driving/ transit/ walking directions
    Street View
    Traffic
     
  2. Stigy

    Stigy Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Ratings:
    +0
    **Also clicking anywhere on the map will bring up a "What's nearby" option which lets you know POI's that are near the clicked point on the map (or address).
     
  3. Mojo

    Mojo Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,357
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    S.W Missouri
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Stigy!! I had not found that feature yet :icon_ banana:
     
  4. Stigy

    Stigy Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was following the Google conference today since TechCrunch was doing it live.

    Hence how I knew about Google Goggles as soon as it was announced ;)

    Google is doing SO well lately -- this is amazing.
     
  5. Mojo

    Mojo Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,357
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    S.W Missouri
    Ratings:
    +0

    your telling me!! it is very exciting times for Google!! And for the Android platform!
     
  6. metalmenance

    metalmenance Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Knoxville TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    Updated and yes very very nice,,,, cool new features, i have always used gmaps and now having droid with gmaps is the ultimate gps map solution for me, works great!
    on my omnia i used to go on laptop, get directions then save to my maps, then on omnia open and track with gps but now having the navigate and voice integrated is super nice and very easy to use
    keep up the great work google!!!!!
     
  7. droidde

    droidde New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can someone tell me how to save the maps? I Googled and read elsewhere that the map can be saved as a Contact, but I see no such feature on the Droid. Thanks.
     
  8. aaf709

    aaf709 Nice Guy Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,179
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    So Cal
    Ratings:
    +49
    I saw on another thread that Google Maps wasn't working right with the update. This might take care of that as well.
     
  9. raven1911

    raven1911 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I installed the update and must say, maps kicks butt now! Much faster and way more options than before the firmware update! Now hopefully it got rid of my echo, but I haven't made a call with it yet.:icon_ banana:
     
  10. pcandroid

    pcandroid Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0

    If you add an address to your contact and then go into your contact it will give you a option to show on map or navigate to.:icon_ banana:
     
  11. Aaron636r

    Aaron636r Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    402
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    So California
    Ratings:
    +0
    Where did you guys get this update?? I installed the latest update from the market and im not getting terrain layer..etc
     
  12. LosAngeles

    LosAngeles Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0

    Go into maps and hit the menu soft touch key and go to more then labs then it should be there
     
  13. Aaron636r

    Aaron636r Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    402
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    So California
    Ratings:
    +0
    Great. Thanks for the tip.