Google MAps update today work on Droid for anyone?

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by andjarnic, Mar 19, 2010.

  1. andjarnic

    andjarnic Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Sacramento area, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey all,

    So I see I had an update for google maps. I installed it.. and dang if it doesn't work. It starts up, goes into some options page for a few seconds, then force closes. This is MOST annoying that one of the key apps for Droid gets forked in an update. Did google even test the thing on Droid? Or did they only test it on Nexus one?

    Anyone else having issues with it?
     
  2. Ridley

    Ridley Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Worked great for me. maybe uninstall it and try again??
     
  3. andjarnic

    andjarnic Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Sacramento area, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Haha.. my bad..I didn't think you could uninstall it. I see it says you can uninstall updates. That seems to work. Learn something new every day.
     
  4. qwiksilver711

    qwiksilver711 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Backwoods Montana
    Ratings:
    +0
    I saw it had an update and it wouldnt install for me, says unsigned or something like that... may be because I just flashed to smoked glass v 6 last night, and it comes with a different google maps or somethin? I dont know, but it may be that I have a newer version of maps because i'm rooted.



    (p.s. before all your non rooted heads explode because I mentioned the fact that I am rooted, I am not bragging about rooting being better than stock, (even though it is :icon_ devil:) I was just stating it as a fact, because I think it may be the reason that the update did not work for me.)
     
  5. Backnblack

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,260
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Ratings:
    +17
    Unistall all Google Map updates and reinstall 4.1
     
  6. khelek

    khelek Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I noticed it on my phone yesterday, installed it, it opened right up and has worked perfectly since. Like the new Latitude widget it comes with as well.

    This is an unrooted, stock 2.0.1 Droid.
     
  7. Erich_F

    Erich_F Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Odessa, FL
    Ratings:
    +0
    Werks fer me...but I haven't toyed with the innards of my Droid, either.
     
  8. hacku

    hacku Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    549
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Mesa, AZ.
    Ratings:
    +4
    I had read some of the comments that it wasn't working on the Droid so I was weary about downloading and installing it.

    I just did and it works without any problems.

    DroidMod 1.0
     
  9. droidilac

    droidilac Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just updated mine and it works just fine.

    Running BB 0.7.4 <---- that's right lol it worked without any problems so I never bothered flashing a different rom. LoL I wonder if I am the only one still running that version.
     
  10. dezymond

    dezymond Tech Support Mod Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    11,710
    Likes Received:
    1,146
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Ratings:
    +1,276
    Current Phone Model:
    Samsung Galaxy Note 5
    worked for me.

    used maps on a hiking trail today and it worked flawlessly.
     
  11. svttech76

    svttech76 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you go to the adamz sub section in the rom forum there is a fix for this. I had to uninstall maps with root explorer and then reinstall it
     
  12. nwskeptic

    nwskeptic New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Same issue here, just would not work. I uninstalled the update and it works fine now.