Google maps update on 3/20/10

Discussion in 'Android Applications Discussions' started by GeLopez, Mar 20, 2010.

  1. GeLopez

    GeLopez Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    683
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Dallas TX
    Ratings:
    +8
    Can anyone share what exactly the update is about? And the version?

    edit: so far the change reported by christim is the build number from 4124 to 4126
    edit 2: good find by flomaster on post#11 swiping left to right to change finds works now
    - good find by jeremy556 on post#12 switching accounts now works
     
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2010
  2. jsh1120

    jsh1120 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    2,455
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Seattle, Washington
    Ratings:
    +1
    It's 4.1. Unclear what is included compared to the 4.1 update of a couple of days ago. I suspect it's a bug fix.
     
  3. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    I too noticed that it was still 4.1. Very odd, generally when a change is made of any sort the version number changes as well. This is Google however, and they do seem to march to a different beat.
     
  4. ptfd13

    ptfd13 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have no update available, still running 4.1.0
     
  5. christim

    christim DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,100
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    New England
    Ratings:
    +2
    The market says new search results page where you can swipe to the next result. The market says 4.1.0 but I thought that's what I got the other day.

    Settings/apps/manage apps/maps says I currently have 4124
    After install manage apps says I have version 4126.

    What good stuff in 4125 did I miss? :icon_eek:

    4126 works fine on SG6.0 rooted phone

    searched for pizza, did list view (icon lower left corner on map screen) get detailed info, swipe screen left/right to scroll between results.

    edit: saw posts above. I went to the Market, clicked menukey/downloads, and the update was visible.
     
  6. GeLopez

    GeLopez Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    683
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Dallas TX
    Ratings:
    +8
    i got 4126 also. :icon_eek:

    ill update OP
     
  7. moot

    moot Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2

    Swiping screen left or right does not work for me. Is anyone else having this problem. I'm on 4126.
     
  8. SinCitySRT4

    SinCitySRT4 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok good im not the only one lol. i was wondering since it updated and its still had the same version number. i thought it didnt actually update. most likely a small bug fix. i was seeing a lot of comments of people getting forces closes when they would open maps with the first release of 4.1.
     
  9. metsnfins

    metsnfins Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    i saw bad comments so i was afraid to update
     
  10. awsolot

    awsolot Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    If u have 2.1 u can use google maps as live wall paper. Go figure
     
  11. Flomaster

    Flomaster Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    East Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    search for pizza
    click bottom left "LIST VIEW" icon
    click a pizza place
    swipe left or right to switch to different pizza place

    -=Jason=-
     
  12. Jeremy556

    Jeremy556 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Besides using maps as live wallpaper, I noticed that the account switching feature works now.

    Before, if you had a Google Apps account setup as your first Google account, the My Maps feature wouldn't work. An update or two ago they added an option to switch accounts, but it didn't work for me until today. It would act like it changed, ask for permission, then it would be on "Signing In..." forever.
     
  13. GeLopez

    GeLopez Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    683
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Dallas TX
    Ratings:
    +8
    good find from flomaster and jeremy556

    are this from the new update or from the 4.1 update afew days ago?
     
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2010
  14. moot

    moot Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Ah, I see. I was trying to swipe on the main search screen. Thank you!