1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Google Maps- Latitude

Discussion in 'Android Applications' started by Nickmast, Jan 27, 2010.

  1. Nickmast
    Offline

    Nickmast New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So I was playing around with latitude on google maps and have it so i can see the location of my wife's phone when she has her gps on. Why doesn't her location update more frequently? I looked this morning and the last time her location updated was 10 hours ago. Kinda makes latitude completely pointless. Why didn't they include a Refresh Location button or something? Sometimes it will report her location about 2 miles away from where she is, when she is sitting right next to me. I did check all of the settings, GPS was on, my location was accurate but hers was not.

    Before anyone jumps to conclusions, I'm not spying on her. Just testing out the features of the program.
  2. seang
    Offline

    seang New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    latitude scares the crap put of me.
  3. daevans315
    Offline

    daevans315 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    IL
    Latitude + google search engine = Skynet

    But I've noticed big lags in latitude as well. What I have noticed is if I'm using google maps to navigate it updates quite regularly(every 30 seconds or so it seems). Mine will do odd things at my home when it looses GPS and puts me 10 miles from my home and then back again within seconds(I have history turned on for now). Then will not update at all for my 15 mile drive to work. I have not been able to find the trigger to keep a more regular update schedule.
  4. G8orDroid
    Offline

    G8orDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I agree, Latitude updates are irregular at best, but one thing to check is this: From her phone, tap your icon on her map screen, go to sharing options and verify that "Share best available location' is checked and not "city level".
  5. JhankG
    Offline

    JhankG New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,098
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC
    You just hit "My Location" in Latitude to refresh your location.
  6. Nickmast
    Offline

    Nickmast New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I want to update HER location. I know where I am, so why would I need to see myself on the map?
  7. JhankG
    Offline

    JhankG New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,098
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC
    SHE needs to hit My Location if SHE wants her location updated. You don't get to choose when someone else's location is updated (obviously). Why in the world would Google allow you to do that?
  8. brochaos
    Offline

    brochaos New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    781
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yeah, you have it backwards dude.

    also, when you go indoors, you lose dedicated GPS and so now the phone can only approixmate with cell towers (aGPS) so your locations will not be as accurate.
  9. Storms illusion
    Offline

    Storms illusion New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Latitude blows...Until they set a cap at 30min refreshes for all contacts, it's stupid. I added my best friend so we can know where we are on campus that way if im outa class we can hook up. However it detects him being connected to the campus wifi and sets us both in the same place, and even if his GPS is turned on...its often in acturate and avg refresh was like 35min
  10. Technoman
    Offline

    Technoman New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    980
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas TX
    Everyone please keep in mind that Latitude needs the GPS active in order to give an accurate position. Your GPS function can be "ON" in settings, but is not "active" unless you are using an application that requires it. Latitude is not an application, it is a "layer" in Google Maps, and interconnects with your Google account to get your sharing list.

    If your GPS is not active, the best Latitude (or any location sharing application for that matter) can do is give your estimated location based on Cellular tower. This is an approximate location within 1100 yards of the closest tower (I believe).

    If you do not see the GPS icon in your status bar, the GPS is not active, and your position will be estimated as stated above.
  11. Storms illusion
    Offline

    Storms illusion New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I understand, I just wish there was an application that allowed this without opening an app...or having to turn things on. He often does not have GPS on active due to battery use...He tries to save battery life as much as possible therefore it is never on..I wish something was created that kept it on at all times. For just for my purpose but for others. Like even people that are in your phone plan with you..that would be great to.
  12. KZIWarrior
    Offline

    KZIWarrior Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,625
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    Wow I guess I'm just getting 'old.' :icon_ banana:

    I don't particularly care to know where my friends are (well, not enough to pay $10). When I do I simply CALL THEM :rofl3:. And I surely don't want people knowing where I am. Again, when I do I'll let them know personally.

    Oh well, to each their own I guess, props to the developer for making $$$$ for something so (IMHO) ridiculous.
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2010
  13. Storms illusion
    Offline

    Storms illusion New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am 23...Im young..I spend half of my life socializing, so i understand its a different story.

    But, it doesn't cost 10$...I am not sure what your talking about o_O
  14. Technoman
    Offline

    Technoman New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    980
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas TX
    KZI, you are confusing Latitude with Locale. Latitude is FREE, and is a Google application.
  15. cisco0910
    Offline

    cisco0910 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    845
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    hahahaa! the joke is on you kzi warrior! !
  16. Storms illusion
    Offline

    Storms illusion New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well in his defense i doubt i would pay for it..unless enough of my friends had the ability to use it. Currently my roomate is the only other with a droid...and i only know a few with an iphone... and none with an android OS
  17. KZIWarrior
    Offline

    KZIWarrior Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,625
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    DUH!!!!! yes I did, just realized that, lol. Oh well:icon_ banana: Still don't get it but then I can see the younger people using it.
  18. Technoman
    Offline

    Technoman New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    980
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas TX
    You don't have to have a Droid, or any phone to use Latitude. You can go onto Google Web, and it allows you to see from there. I was driving home from another area here a couple weeks ago, and my wife was texting asking "where are you"? I told her to activate the Latitude invite that I had sent her... she did, and from that point on (I had my GPS and Google Maps going with Navigation active) she could see my exact spot. She was texting me, telling me where I was showing on the highway.

    It really works quite well, and could assist if you are driving in dangerous weather and such. Someone can see if you are still moving or not, and if not they could call you. No answer... call 911 and give your exact location....

    You can always disable it, or even fake it (manually put in a location) if you are trying to hide for some reason.
  19. Storms illusion
    Offline

    Storms illusion New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No im sorry, i meant i wouldnt pay for it unless it was another program that operated differently then logitude. My gf uses logitude online to see where i am when i visit (5 hrs away) which is kinda nice so i dont have to deal with her constant texts asking where im at.
  20. Parafly9
    Offline

    Parafly9 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Uxbridge, MA
    When I was on Blackberry, latitude updated constnatly. My wife was driving down the raod and it would refresh every 30 seconds or so. Why is it differnet on the Droid?
Search tags for this page
google latitude location accuracy
,

google latitude stale friends

,

google latitude stale location

,

how accurate is google maps latitude

,
is google maps latitude accurate
,

latitude stale location

,

stale location

,

stale location google latitude

,
stale location latitude
,

stale location on google latitude

,

stale location on latitude

,
what causes stale location in google maps
,
what does stale location mean on google latitude
,

what is a stale location on google latitude

,
what is stale location on latitude