Google Maps GPS Navigation

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 4' started by Hikertrash, Aug 23, 2012.

  1. Hikertrash
    Offline

    Hikertrash Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2012
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    New to the forum...

    .. and got my first smart phone recently (D4) from Verizon but was reluctant to pay monthly for GPS navigation for something I'd only use sporadically. Installed Google Maps and it appears it will work without the added monthly expense.

    Since I'm new to smartphones and data plans, I'm kind of clueless to how it all works. I really don't use the phone all that much and only have 450 anytime minutes and a 2GB data plan. Any idea how much of what a 500 mile trip or 8 hours of using the Google navigator take?

    All is there an app that can send messages (to friends) and photos (to friends or Facebook etc.) without paying Verizon the added costs?
     
  2. bearhawk426
    Offline

    bearhawk426 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I did a 13 hour trip using navigation most of the way and it used just under 20 MB. On the return trip I used navigation along with streaming Slacker Radio and it used about 320 MB.
    Hope this helps.
    Jim
     
  3. tcrews
    Offline

    tcrews Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,353
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Lexington, SC
    Ratings:
    +22
    You can offline cache google maps (sections) to your phone while you are connected to WiFi and not use any of your data plan....just cache the areas of your trip.

    Or cache your destination city(s) and just use mobile data for the drive.....
     
  4. Hikertrash
    Offline

    Hikertrash Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2012
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks, that doesn't sound too bad.
     
  5. txter
    Offline

    txter Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    You don't use as much data as some think the way that the browser uses mobile sites and the way Google is changing its servers to only send data you need. Their is a widget built in from VZW that shows you how much data your using. Their is also a data manager built in. Play around with them. From the pricing, it looks like your better off buying more than you may need just encase you do go over what you thought you'd use. The overage charges are nuts.
    And search the market. They're are a few apps that will send msgs for free as long as your on wifi. You can turn off your radio and pretty much use every part of your phone still as long as your on wifi.
     
  6. txter
    Offline

    txter Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oh ya... if it helps, I've used 500mb in 3 days just doing things I always do. Stream music with Google music player. YouTube, pix msgs, emails, Facebook, Google maps.
    Some of us are heavy users and some wouldn't hit 500mb in a month.
     
  7. FunN4Lo
    Offline

    FunN4Lo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    941
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +18
    I have used Maps on long trips. I never saw it using much data, but I don't have a good number for you. I can give you this scenario. I never work in the same place twice. I use Maps every single day for 3-4 trips lasting 30-90 minutes each. I get 200-300 emails a day. I am on Facebook, Drudge, DF, DL, etc multiple times a day. I usually do some short tethering on my laptop at least a few times a week. I use weather apps with hourly updates etc etc and use right at 2gigs a month on an unlimited plan.
     
  8. moset
    Offline

    moset Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Rural South GA
    Ratings:
    +15
    A little off topic but, is GPS locking in quickly on Droid 4 after ICS?
    several RAZR folks are having problems.
    It seems that your ICS release might be the base for the RAZR update when it comes. Version numbers are very close and both phones are close in hardware.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
     
  9. Hikertrash
    Offline

    Hikertrash Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2012
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I used to be a heavy user too and it cost a lot more than a data plan so I'm not sure I should be so worried about going over 2GB. :icon_ devil:

    Sounds reasonable. Anyway to use the Droid as a Hotspot without paying Verizon the extra monthly fee?

    I got the ICS update only hours after I received the phone, so I have no past experience. As far as I can tell I haven't had any problems and the GPS is amazingly quick locating my house compared to the Garmin GPS I use for hiking. I ordered a car dock from Amazon and will check it out further once I receive the dock.

    Has anyone used Onavo Extend to lower their bandwidth usage, or Onavo Count to monitor it?
     
  10. txter
    Offline

    txter Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
  11. Hikertrash
    Offline

    Hikertrash Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2012
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Awesome, I hate getting nickle and dimed to death, especially when it's $20.

    Prior to reading that, I found PDANet, and haven't really checked it out because I'm at home and using the Droid with wireless. Playing with the stock tethering and mobile hospot app it looks like I'm not allowed and a message says it's not in my plan and to call customer service. Class action suit?

    I also saw FoxFi and that also has good reviews, so between one of them, I should be all set when needed.

    Man I wish got a smartphone with an unlimited plan when they were offered.
     
  12. txter
    Offline

    txter Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Unlimited or not, I think we will all be forced to have a tier plan later.
    If you dare to root their are plenty of tethering apps out there.
     
  13. myfishbear
    Offline

    myfishbear Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    1,292
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    in the sea. sometimes on land as well
    Ratings:
    +30
    foxfi works without root and that tethers
     
  14. Hikertrash
    Offline

    Hikertrash Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2012
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I installed PDAnet and from what I understand that app does Bluetooth DUN and USB tethering. A third option is a wifi Hotspot. If you choose that, PDAnet is integrated with, and has you install FoxFi.

    Regarding rooting:
     
  15. Hikertrash
    Offline

    Hikertrash Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2012
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thinking about this I'm actually surprised you can't cache the entire country with Google maps, the way a normal GPS's work such as Garmin (City Navigator) or Delorme (Earthmate). All the maps come in at 2-3GB.
     
Search tags for this page
audi google earth nag screen
,
droid navigation disabled
,

google navigation gps disabled

,
google+code+android+nag screen
,
gps navigator ics
,
how much data will an 8 hour navigation trip use
,
samsung galaxy s4 navigation app turn off nag screen