Google Maps Gets New Update to 5.4.0

Discussion in 'Android News' started by dgstorm, May 5, 2011.

  1. dgstorm

    dgstorm Editor in Chief
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,018
    Likes Received:
    3,979
    Trophy Points:
    823
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Ratings:
    +4,254
    [​IMG]

    Google maps was updated to version 5.4.0. It has a few changes, and here they are below:
    • View your Google Maps searches in Google Web History for your account.
    • See additional business details for each search result on the map
    • Report “destination not here” in Navigation (Beta)
    It's nothing too dramatic, but I really dig the History feature. There have been times when I wanted to take the same or similar vacation or business trip that I did previously, and I ended up having to do the research "legwork" all over again. This makes duplicating trips much easier.

    Source: Android.net via TalkAndroid and AndroidMarket
     
  2. the86d

    the86d Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Destination not here should help others... I don't know how many times GPS has been off in new (Home and Business) developments, even if the "street" had been there for years...
     
  3. therock

    therock Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    N. GA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just hope some4one will be listening.
     
  4. Big Lou

    Big Lou Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    733
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nice! I've only ever experienced a few false destinations, but this should come in handy if I ever run into them again.
     
  5. therock

    therock Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    N. GA
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you are ever looking for the Cumberland Costco it will take you 1/2 mile off.

    Looking at it I am wondering when it will prompt you to input the entry.
     
  6. Big Lou

    Big Lou Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    733
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I would think (haven't tried it yet) that it would simply ping Google and have them fix the error. I doubt they're letting us troll their maps and input our own destinations.
     
  7. sgtguthrie

    sgtguthrie Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I wish they'd make a seperate app for Latitude. I don't use or want it, and since integrated I can't get network location service to stop running! SOOO ANNOYING!!!
     
  8. nerdslogic

    nerdslogic Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2,531
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Cybertron
    Ratings:
    +1
    Why not just sign out of Latitude?
     
  9. sgtguthrie

    sgtguthrie Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm not signed into it! Never signed up!
     
  10. nerdslogic

    nerdslogic Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2,531
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Cybertron
    Ratings:
    +1
    oh.....hmm.....I know latitude does show up seperately in the app drawer....maybe there is a way to freeze it or uninstall it.
     
  11. nerdslogic

    nerdslogic Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2,531
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Cybertron
    Ratings:
    +1
    Have you tried freezing Latitude with Titanium Backup?
     
  12. pistacio

    pistacio Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    MA
    Ratings:
    +5
    I've tried to uninstall Latitude, but get prompted to uninstall Google maps entirely. Haven't tried freezing...