Google Maps FCing - HELP!!!

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by bd1212, Feb 6, 2010.

  1. bd1212
    Offline

    bd1212 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    424
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well, I've just used SMUpdater to get SholesMod 2.0.2 ROM on my Droid, however, after the update Google Maps isn't working. It's just force closing upon me trying to launch it

    HELP!

    Regards,

    Checkpoint
  2. bd1212
    Offline

    bd1212 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    424
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Bump.

    Please help me, guys.
  3. blake2050
    Offline

    blake2050 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you just want maps back and dont care about the MT maps then just uninstall maps and redownload it in the market...
  4. shademar
    Offline

    shademar New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Berkeley
    I didn't find any combo of reinstalling MT vs old-school maps that worked in sholes, and I couldn't uninstall and reinstall from the market. However, patching with pete's multi-touch me update did the trick just fine.

    AllDroid - View topic - [Patcher] MultiTouch Me! ;]
  5. forkup
    Offline

    forkup New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The new market maps 3.40 includes MT, just uninstall the versions you have now and install it. It works well with all after market apps that use maps.
  6. cybaek
    Offline

    cybaek New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    how do you until maps?? the uninstall button is grayed out. please help.
  7. Guchi
    Offline

    Guchi New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,074
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    what about the Update button? then try a battery pull if that doesn't work
  8. cybaek
    Offline

    cybaek New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i dont see an update button in the market...just says installed...
  9. cybaek
    Offline

    cybaek New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ive researched and found that most ppl having issues with maps force closing was just uninstalling and reinstalling. however i am not able to uninstall. any help on stopping the force close issue on my maps would be greatly appreciated. thanks in advance.
  10. BostonBill
    Offline

    BostonBill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I posted this on another thread but it may help you. Read it carefully. Wipe info loses a lot of stuff but if you can't do anything else it might help. That or wait out info from the sholes.info team. I think they are working on it now. Me I'm just kind of floundering in the dark but everything seems to be working for me now.

    "As info I followed the shoesupdater upgrade path successfully until the 3.4 maps update. Conventional wisdom said go to Market uninstall 3.4 maps then do 2.02 sholes without mt maps. The problem was I couldn't uninstall 3.4 maps from Market. It was grayed out. After reflashing, going back to stock, etc etc nothing worked. Until I reflashed 2.02, then chose WIPE INFO. After doing that, Market allowed me to uninstall maps 3.4. I then installed, reinstalled whatever you want to call it, 2.02 shole rom without mt maps. When the dust settled back to Market and installed maps 3.4. Everything seems to work. Well a minor bluetooth issue but happy for now.
    So rom my experience, when you reflash 2.02 WIPE INFO allows you to uninstall maps 3.4 from Market. However you have to reinstall all your apps and set up things like Google Voice all over again. Kind of a pain in the ass for me but interesting just the same."
  11. R1Lover
    Offline

    R1Lover New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,702
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern Ca
    If you bothered to read the update thread you would have the answer...
  12. bd1212
    Offline

    bd1212 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    424
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sorry I wasn't able to post this, but within 20 minutes of me posting this I'd already fixed my own problem.

    I didn't have an internet connection so I wasn't able to post that bit of info... sorry. =x
  13. lmapp
    Offline

    lmapp New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    MS
    ...and you fixed it by...?
Similar Threads
  1. lilcoool
    Replies:
    18
    Views:
    996
  2. n813ca
    Replies:
    8
    Views:
    656
  3. sandfreak
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    450
  4. kamkay
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    559
  5. CMDRSTP
    Replies:
    10
    Views:
    2,102
Loading...