google maps 3.4 night mode??

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by ucpro, Feb 4, 2010.

  1. ucpro
    Offline

    ucpro New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    dothan, al
    i just read that it has night mode, but i don't see an option for it. Has anybody gotten it to work?
  2. dezymond
    Offline

    dezymond Tech Support Mod Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,882
    Likes Received:
    624
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    haven't heard anything, but that'd be great.

    the new 2.1 clock dim is alot dimmer than 2.0.1, but they really need to turn off the four buttons.
  3. JhankG
    Offline

    JhankG New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,098
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC
    That update was released for Android 2.1 on the Nexus One (not the Droid yet). It has already been ported for the Droid and includes pinch to zoom to go along with the night mode. If you have rooted your phone, you can install it now. It also came with the newest Sholes ROM that was just released today.
  4. bamfsig45
    Offline

    bamfsig45 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    895
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ICT
    Anything that uses the Maps API will crash though, at least that is what I have experienced with Weather Bug. Others are saying this too so thats why I tested it and proved they were right. It does work good until something needs to access it. Im using the Bugless Beast rom which included this version of Google maps. So maybe the stand alone apk wouldnt cause this? I'd like to know.
  5. ucpro
    Offline

    ucpro New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    dothan, al
    I have it installed with bb, I just cant find where you can go to night mode
  6. KZIWarrior
    Offline

    KZIWarrior Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,625
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    What version of BB are you running? I put the new on last night (2/3) and 'heard' others say that but it does NOT crash for me... I did a search from xScope, pulled up the map, selected 'get directions' and it opens the Map program perfectly. I believe that was one of the things addressed in last nights build...

    And no, I can't find the 'night' mode either.. ?maybe it automatically adjusts based on the time??
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2010
  7. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I installed the MT Maps last night including in the Sholes ROM. Didn't crash on me either...
  8. KZIWarrior
    Offline

    KZIWarrior Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,625
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    Night mode automatic and ONLY in NAV

    Just found several press releases regarding the update. Apparently it switches to "night mode" automatically. Also several of the releases make it sound like this mode is only in the Nav and not on the maps... Guess we'll have to wait a few hours to find out.

    Google Maps 3.4 for Android Brings New Features - Including starring and personalized suggestions - Softpedia

    Excerpt:
    Lastly, be sure to check out the newly added "night mode" in Navigation, which will automatically turn on for easier Navigation viewing at night,”
  9. Shad0w325
    Offline

    Shad0w325 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    I was hoping you would be able to switch between day and night mode on the fly. :( Oh well.
  10. ucpro
    Offline

    ucpro New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    dothan, al
    wow that'll be slick if it adjusts based on the time. the only thing that would bother me is it turning to night mode too early or too late.
  11. bamfsig45
    Offline

    bamfsig45 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    895
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ICT

    Im running the 0.7.4 version and the only app I have tried it with is Weather Bug when you try to view the radar the weather bug app crashes. I havent tried it with anything else.
  12. KZIWarrior
    Offline

    KZIWarrior Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,625
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    Just checked the Nav and "night mode" is indeed working:icon_ banana:. It's nothing major, they just darkened the map and dimmed the title/instruction window but it would be easier on the eyes at night. Still odd there's no way to toggle it on/off. But at least it a bit of progress.

    Pete just updated his AllDroid post with a patch to fix the Map problem.
    http://alldroid.org/viewtopic.php?f=309&t=1553
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2010
  13. ucpro
    Offline

    ucpro New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    dothan, al
    yes sir it DOES i'm pumped now!! i need to sell my tomtom now. they're not getting my money for updates.
Search tags for this page
android google maps night mode
,
google maps android night mode
,
google maps api night mode
,
google maps disable nightmode
,
google maps navigation night mode
,

google maps night mode

,

google maps night mode android

,

google navigation night mode

,
how to turn off night mode in google maps
,

how to turn on night mode in google maps

,
night mode google maps
,
night mode google navigation