Google Lattitude

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by stravis, Aug 6, 2010.

  1. stravis

    stravis New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    With one of the recent Google Maps updates, it automatically installed Latitude. I saw it in my apps drawer and clicked on it to see what it was. It asked for my Google account and I filled it in. After messing with it and figuring out what it was, I turned on the Hide your location option and turned it off. I get an email today saying that I've been sharing my location. I get home and again open up latitude and hide my location. I immediately open it back up and it's showing my location.

    I have no use for this app. I don't want it but if I uninstall it, it uninstalls the Maps update as well. There is no option in the app to log out of my google account. I can't get it to turn off my location. I even went to my google account settings on my computer and it doesn't give me the option to delete my Latitude account.

    How do I get out of this? I don't want it. I can't uninstall it and can't even log out. I can't turn off the share location setting. This is ridiculous.

    Thanks for any help you can offer.
     
  2. engineman312

    engineman312 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    New York City
    Ratings:
    +0
    if u can't log out or uninstall it, try just hiding your status/location in the settings tab.
     
  3. stravis

    stravis New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I wish I could. I hide the location and it immediately goes back to share location. I can find no option to log out and I can't uninstall.
     
  4. scoder

    scoder Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cedar Grove, NJ
    Ratings:
    +1
    Go to settings, applications, manage apps. Find Latitude. If thats not there, choose maps. Choose Force Stop, then Clear Data and Restore Defaults. That should log you out.
     
  5. tehpriest

    tehpriest Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Wales. UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    You can log out. In Latitude go to menu, privacy, turn off Latitude.

    I haven't figured out what it is for yet???
     
    #5 tehpriest, Aug 6, 2010
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2010
  6. erikfig

    erikfig Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    544
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I hate that freaking Lattitude icon
     
  7. stravis

    stravis New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I do all that except for the restore defaults because it is greyed out. I then open Latitude and it says "Joining Latitude" then pulls up my location. I go to privacy settings and it has set itself on "detect location" again. I set it to "hide location" and click "turn off latitude".

    I did all that yesterday and today I get an email telling me I am broadcasting my location. If I go back into Latitude, the settings are back to "Detect location".
     
  8. Mateles

    Mateles Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Did you actually try uninstalling / reinstalling Maps (vs. just knowing it would uninstall and didn't try it)? I don't have any advice other than that. I like Latitude since I have other friends using it. It only shares your location with people you allow, but I agree that you should be able to disable it if you want.
     
  9. stravis

    stravis New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I did uninstall. It just logs back in automatically once I update again.

    Thanks for the advice everyone.
     
  10. its.mike

    its.mike Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    When viewing latitude it will always show you your location. Turning on the hide me feature you are not allowing others to view your location.

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
     
  11. scoder

    scoder Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cedar Grove, NJ
    Ratings:
    +1
    Just curious, have you used latitude on your PC before? Maybe those settings are overriding?
     
  12. tehpriest

    tehpriest Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Wales. UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    To clarify. As soon as you open Latitude it will log you back on. Once open you can hide yourself or log off BUT as soon as you close the app and open it again it logs you back on. So if you hide and then log off while the app is open and then close it you are hidden and no one can see you. Try finding the location of your phone after you have done this but remember as soon as you open the app again it will log you on.
     
Search tags for this page
how do i delete latitude from my droid
,
how to log out of latitude on droid bionic
,
how to logout of latitude
,

how to remove latitude from android

,
how uninstall latitude android
,
logout of latitude android
,
sign out latitude android
,
uninstall google latitude android
,
uninstall lattitude android gingerbread
,
uninstall of latitude in android